Introductory Post: What Does a Dietitian Eat?

While this question may not be as elusive as what a fox says…

Image

Image Source

I still think there are a lot of people who are going to ask it.

The simple answer is EVERYTHING! There isn’t a single food that I cut out of my life after becoming a Dietitian. I personally don’t believe in “good” or “bad” foods. I believe food is food but foods serve different purpose and I eat it in differing amounts based on it’s purpose.

What I’m saying in a nutshell is that that one word Dietitian’s love to use but no one understands what it means….MODERATION! I live by an 80/20 rule. Where 80% of the food I eat is great for my body and maybe 20% isn’t the greatest choices but it makes me happy and sane.

So what did I eat today? Here’s a sample of a pretty typical day….

Breakfast:

I started my day with my coffee. My need for coffee is summed up perfectly by this.

Image

Then I tried a new Kashi Cereal today, Blueberry Oat Clusters & Flakes. Usually I’m very partial to my Kashi Go Lean, but I was out. I ate 1 cup of the cereal with 1/2 cup skim milk and half of a banana.

IMG_2911

Snack:

Mandarin orange. I love this time of year! I go through an unhealthy amount of mandarin oranges (note I am being sarcastic about the unhealthy, oranges are healthy! ;))

Lunch:

Sweet Kale Salad from Costco! I cannot get enough of this salad. It is sooo yummy!!! I actually sauté mine for a bit in a little bit of olive oil. I find cabbage and kale to be quite bitter but you sauté it for a couple minutes and it’s delicious! I also cooked up a chicken breast and added half of it to my salad.

IMG_2909

Snack:

Apples with peanut butter! Yummmm…one of my favourite snacks.

IMG_2910

I had almost finished before I remembered to take a photos…newbie blogger!

Supper:

I tried out a new recipe tonight and made Jambalaya. I don’t think I’ve ever actually had Jambalaya before because it has shrimp in it and I’m not a fan. But my husband LOVES jambalaya so I figured it was time to give it a try. I just took out my portion before finishing up his portion with added shrimp. I followed this recipe, kind of. I didn’t use any bacon or ham – I found those to be a little unnecessary in a recipe already calling for 3 different types of meats and it was an easy way to cut down on the sodium in this recipe. I also used brown rice instead of white and only used chicken broth (because that’s what I had on hand).

It turned out pretty good. I wouldn’t say Jambalaya is my favourite dish but I liked it. Tom said it was great, so I’ll take that as a win! I also had a glass or red wine with supper….remember that 20%.

IMG_2917

4 thoughts on “Introductory Post: What Does a Dietitian Eat?

  1. Thanks for your words support on my twitter! I noticed that you were also a food/fitness blogger, so here I am! I love that an RD herself is telling the world that she eats anything and everything! People I meet always assume that because i’m a DI student that I am all about vegetarian and organic foods! I totally believe in “moderation” and “balance”!

I love hearing from my readers! Please leave a reply

