Meatless err…Tuesday

Meatless Monday seems to be a big trend right now. And I think it’s a great one as North American’s generally eat well over their Eating Well with Canada’s Food Guide servings of Meats & Alternatives. I definitely try to incorporate at least one meatless dinner in my weekly routine although it doesn’t always fall on Monday.

In fact, last night my supper was pretty dismal (toast with peanut butter). I went to the gym after work and only had a quick moment to change before heading off to the Running Room for my Workout Recovery Nutrition talk. So I didn’t end up eating supper until I got home at 9 p.m! Talk about not practicing what I preach. Although, I did take in one drink in that 30 minute window. I tried out the new Milk 2 Go Sport.

IMG_2922

I saw it when I was picking up the chocolate milk for the talk and thought I would give it a try. The added protein comes from additional milk protein isolate and whey protein concentrate. Whey protein can be pretty iffy in taste so I was a little worried about the after taste it might have. But it actually was yummy. There was a hint of that whey protein flavour but overall just tasted like chocolate milk. 1 bottle is 200 calories and contains 26 grams of protein. It uses skim milk compared to 1% that most chocolate milk’s use. Overall I give the product a big thumbs up and could definitely see myself repurchasing it in the future.

But back to my meatless Tuesday…

Tonight for supper I decided to go for a meatless spaghetti. I used both lentils and chickpeas. I had pre-cooked a batch of lentils a while ago and froze them so that I always have some on hand. I used canned chickpeas, which I rinsed to reduce the sodium content. I added a can of Alymer stewed tomatoes (no salt added) and Chunky Ragu. The sodium in the sauce is quite high 500 mg per 1/2 cup serving but it’s what i had on hand. I added some chopped peppers into the sauce as well. I planned to add zucchini but when I pulled it out of the fridge it was a bit flaccid…. I poured the sauce over whole wheat spaghetti and voila! I served a tossed romaine salad on the side.

IMG_2924

Do you participate in meatless Mondays? What’s your favourite meatless dish?

I love hearing from my readers! Please leave a reply

