How to Stay (Somewhat) Healthy on Vacation

While being away in Victoria this weekend, I thought a lot about how I stayed (somewhat) healthy while I was on vacation and thought I would share some of my tips & tricks.

When you’re on vacation, you are out of your regular routine and tend to indulge more often because “you’re on vacation”. But what I think is most important is how you manage those indulgences.

First, I think it’s important to note that I do indulge when I’m on vacation. I have a mocha when we are out and stop at a local coffee shop, I share a dessert at dinner time, I stop at the Rocky Mountain Chocolate Factory for a treat…

rocky mountain

Indulgences once in a while are okay, as long as they are just once in a while. So while I’m on vacation, I like to always consider my 80/20 rule. 80% of the food I eat should be good for me, nutrient dense food. But 20% of the food I eat will be not so healthy chocolate. Sometimes on vacation that gets pushed to more of a 70/30 or worse at an all-inclusive resort.

drinks

Image Source

Breakfast is one of the easiest places to eat healthy and start your day off right. Going out for a large breakfast of eggs, bacon, sausage, hashbrowns and toast can add up to over 800 calories. In comparison, this weekend, I chose to have some instant oatmeal and yogurt with coffee in my hotel room which was under 300 calories. Even if you don’t have ammenities in your hotel to make your own breakfast, you can choose healthier options when you eat out.

A few simple tips for choosing a healthy breakfast:

1. Skip the breakfast meats (sausage, bacon, ham) they all tend to be high in fat and sodium.

2. Get your eggs poached or boiled as most places fry their eggs in oil

3. Ask for your toast dry, restaraunts tend to slab HUGE amounts of butter on the toast. You can ask for butter on the side and control the amount added.

4. Ask how hashbrowns are prepared, if they are deep fried go for the fruit cup instead.

Another thing to think about on vacation is how you are going to achieve some activity. If you keep up with an exercise routine while you are away, you are much more likely to continue when you get home. Most hotels have a fitness centre you can use. If not, try a circuit workout that you can do in your hotel room. You can easily work up a sweat and burn some calories before you head out for the day. Or try a run around the area you are visiting, it’s a great way to sightsee and be active at the same time. Alternatively, try to fit more exercise into your daily routine. Choose to walk around and sightsee rather than taking a taxi or transit. Choose the stairs at museums and sights you visit rather than the elevators.

cartoon

Lastly, think about where you want your indulgence to be. If you’re a dessert lover, then be more sensible about your meal choice and portion size so you can enjoy your dessert when it’s time. If you love appetizers, choose appetizers and share with the company on your vacation.

Staying healthy on vacation is mostly about being mindful of what you’re eating and making informed choices about when to indulge and when to choose the healthier option.

What’s your favourite indulgence when on holiday? Do you love Rocky Mountain Chocolate as much as I do?

I love hearing from my readers! Please leave a reply

