Homemade Granola & Candied Lentils

Last night, I made my own homemade granola for the first time. It’s one of those things I’ve always wanted to do because I know it’s fairly easy and you can make a healthier version but I haven’t gotten around to doing it.

So a promised on Instagram, I’m sharing the recipe.

First thing I did was make candied red lentils (Yes you read that right, lentils). I got the recipe from a favourite recipe book of mine called Spilling the Beans.

beans

Recipe:

1 cup red lentils

1/2 cup brown sugar

1 3/4 cup water

1/4 cup margarine

Bring lentils & water to a boil for about 10 minutes. Lentils should be softened but remain shape. Add margarine and brown sugar, turn down heat and continue to heat until lentils have absorbed margarine & sugar. Take pot off of heat and allow lentils to cool (they will continue to absorb liquid while they cool so don’t worry if you have excess). Once cooled place onto greased or parchment covered cookie sheet and bake at 350 for 30 minutes. Turn heat down to 300 and continue to bake for another 20-30 minutes. Lentils will continue to dry after they have been taken out of the oven.

Candied lentilsĀ are a great thing to have for baking. You can use them as a crumb topping on muffins or cobblers. They can be added to granola (as I did). They also make great salad toppers. You can make large batches of them and freeze them so they are available whenever you need. Next time I make them I am going to see if I can swap the margarine for applesauce and cut back the sugar a bit. I’ll keep you posted when I try that.

I forgot to take a picture of the candied lentils…fail!

fail

As for my granola, I used the following recipe:

2 cups large flaked oats

1/2 cup all bran buds

1/2 cup ground flax seed

1 cup sliced almonds

1 cup sunflower seeds

1 cup candied lentils

1 tsp cinnamon

1/8 tsp nutmeg

1/4 cup honey

1/4 cup applesauce

2 Tbsp. concentrated orange juice

Mix all dry ingredients together well. Put applesauce, honey and concentrated juice into pot and heat gently until honey melts. Once melted, pour over dry ingredients and mix well. Spread mixture on large greased cookie sheet and bake at 275 for approximately 30 minutes. I baked mine for 35 minutes and that seemed about 5 minutes too long. Keep an eye on it because it definitely can burn! Stir a few times while baking. Let the mixture cool and then store in an airtight container.

1/4 cup granola = 150 calories, 5 g Protein, 8 g Fat, 4g Fibre, 6g Sugar

Next time I make this recipe I think I will use applesauce in the candied lentils, making that one change would cut out about 2 grams of fat per serving.

IMG_2994

You can really mix up this granola and make it how you like it. You can switch up the almonds with pecans or walnuts. You can add different type of seeds such as pumpkin. You an add dried raisins or other fruit after the mixture has cooled.

This morning I mixed my granola up with some pomegranate and plain greek yogurt (which I added a touch of brown sugar and vanilla to). Delicious!

IMG_2997

Do you ever make your own homemade granola? Have you ever tried candied lentils?

One thought on “Homemade Granola & Candied Lentils

  1. This sounds absolutely delicious and something I must try!! I’ve not been a big granola fan, but looking at the ingredients, I think I would really enjoy this! Thanks Jen!!

I love hearing from my readers! Please leave a reply

