Protein for Breakfast

Lately, I have been looking at my daily protein intake and realizing it’s not quite adequate. After discussing the latest research in a previous post, I decided it was time to put a plan into action to increase my intake.

First step, breakfast.

Around 30g protein is what I am aiming for breakfast. Typically, my breakfasts are nowhere near that mark! So I needed to look up some new recipes and sources. There are a lot of high protein recipes out there that use protein powder. While I am not adverse to protein powder, I prefer real food. Therefore, I was looking for recipes that didn’t include protein powder. In addition, for me convenience is key for breakfast! I give myself about 10 minutes top to make and eat my breakfast. I am usually eating while I’m packing my lunch or if I did that the night before then I’m playing Candy Crush.

candy crush

Image Source

Last night, I made up a couple batches of protein pancakes. There are so many recipes for these on the internet, so I just looked at a bunch of them and decided what I wanted to incorporate into my own recipe. I only made about 8 pancakes as I wanted to try them and adjust the recipe if I needed to. Next time I will make a large batch and freeze them. That way in the morning, you can quickly defrost the pancake, throw it in the toaster and you have a high protein breakfast in minutes.

Banana Protein Pancakes:

1/2 cup oats

1 egg

1 tsp cinnamon

1/4 cup cottage cheese

1/2 mashed banana

Place all ingredients into a blender. Blend until mixed. [The important part here is breaking up the cottage cheese. I don’t mind that the oats aren’t blended into a smooth consistency, I like them still formed. But judge how much you want to blend based on your preference]  Pour into a heated pan and cook each side about 3 minutes. I made 4 small pancakes with this recipe.

P1020628

Each pancakes has 90 calories, 2g fat, 5 g protein and 2 g fibre

I decided to make a second batch but wanted the protein content to be even higher, so this time I used the exact same recipe but added 1/2 cup greek yogurt (I used plain). This bumps up each pancake to 100 calores, 2g fat, 10g protein and 2 g fibre.

This morning I popped one of each of them in the toaster and topped with some peanutbutter.

P1020635

These were soooo delicious and filling! I did notice a slight tartness to the second batch because of the plain greek yogurt. I think next time I would add some vanilla into the recipe. Alternatively, you could use vanilla greek yogurt but that would add additional sugar.

If I eat 2 greek yogurt protein pancakes with peanut butter and a glass of milk I will get 34g protein. 

score

Also last night I made a breakfast dish for supper.

breakfast

I’m not sure what the technical definition of fritatta is because I’m no chef, but I’m going to use that term for what I made.

Cheese, Ham, Spinach & Tomato Fritatta: (Makes 2 servings)

2 eggs

1/2 cup liquid egg whites

1/2 cup cottage cheese

3 slices black forest ham

1/2 cup shredded cheddar

1 roma tomato

1/2 cup spincach chopped

Combine egg, egg white & cottage cheese into mixing bowl and whisk well. Add ham, tomato & spinach and mix. Pour into individual baking bowls or pan* and top with shredded cheddar. Bake at 350 for about 20-25 minutes or until egg is set.

*I used 4 individual corningware so that the eggs would be perfectly set up for our english muffins.

P1020631

Once eggs were ready, I toasted an english muffin and added the fritatta on top. Topped with some hot sauce and I was set!

Nutritional Breakdown with English Muffin= 395 calories, 15g fat, 37g protein, 4g fibre

P1020633

 

This could again be made for an easy breakfast by making the egg dish the night before, then it’s ready to heat and serve.

Do you have any good high protein breakfast recipes? Have you ever tried making protein pancakes?

I love hearing from my readers! Please leave a reply

