New Years Eve Makeup

New Years Eve is one of my favourite holidays for makeup because you can go all out with it. Dark smokey eye, glitter, gold & silvers, the sky is the limit.

So I decided to play around with a little makeup and try out two New Years Eve looks. Please do not judge my hair – that is definitely not a New Years Eve style. I just threw it up quickly for the pictures.

For the first look, I went with a silver and black smokey eye.

P1020967

P1020993

Eye Tutorial:

1. Prep lid with Urban Decay Primer Potion (or any primer)

2. Use MAC Cream Colour Base in Luna on lower eyelid, concentrating the pigment on the inner corner of the eye (this step is optional, it just makes the silver colour pop more)

3. Shade the outer V of your eye into your inner eyelid with Makeup Geek Galaxy (or a dark grey colour)

4. Using a smaller shader brush shade the very outside of the “V” with Urban Decay’s oil slick (or a black colour)

5. Blend out the upper edge of eyeshadow with MAC wedge (or a similar taupe, 1-2 shades darker than your skin colour)

6. Pat MAC electra (or silver colour) onto inner lower lid. Lightly blend the edge of the silver & gray colour

7. Using a pencil brush, brush electra under inner half of eye & galaxy under outer half of eye

8. Use MAC shroom as highlight on brow bone

9. Line upper eyelid with MAC Blacktrack fluid line and lower waterline

10. Finish with curled lashes & mascara on upper & lower lashes. Add lashes for extra dramatic effect

With a bold eye look, I like a more subdued cheek & lip colour. For my cheeks, I used MAC’s cream blush in posey then toped with MAC’s well-dressed. I highlighted my cheekbone with Bobbi Brown shimmer brick in bronze.

For my lips, I used MAC’s please me and topped with Tarte maraca divine shine lipgloss in doll face .

P1020961

For my second look, I wanted something sparkly! So I went with a purple sparkly eye. Unfortunately in many of my photos, the sparkle didn’t show up as it appears in person, so you’ll have to trust me that it was sparkly.

P1030049

P1030091

Eye Tutorial:

1. Prep lid with Urban Decay Primer Potion (or any primer)

2. Use MAC Cream Colour Base in Luna on lower eyelid, concentrating the pigment on the inner corner of the eye (this step is optional, it just makes the colour pop more)

3. Using a shader brush, brush Urban Decay Gravity (or any purple colour) onto the outer v of your eye and into the mid eyelid

4. Pat Urban Decay Polyester bride (or any white/cream coloured shade) onto the inner eyelid.

5. Blend out upper edge of the eyeshadow with MACs blush in well dressed

6. Spray a flat synthetic brush with MAC fix plus spray, dip into loose glitter, mine was purple toned. (The glitter I used is about 100 years old, I doubt its even sold in stores anymore. But any cheap, loose glitter will do). Pat glitter onto the inner corner of the eyelid (where you put the white coloured eyeshadow)

7. Using a pencil brush, brush polyester bride under inner half of eye & gravity under outer half of eye

8. Line upper eyelid with MAC fluid line in black track

9. Liner outer 1/2 of waterline with black pencil

10. Finish with curled lashes & mascara on upper & lower lashes. Add lashes for extra dramatic effect

Again, I went with light cheeks & lips with this look so the focus would be the eyes. I used MAC well dressed for blush. I highlighted my cheekbones with MAC cream colour base in shell. For lips I used MAC please me lipstick. I left the lipstick matte rather than adding any gloss as I already had considerable amount of glitter on my eyes.

And there you have it, two different but equally spectacular look for New Years Eve!

Do you have New Years Eve Plans for this year? Do you have a makeup look in mind?

One thought on “New Years Eve Makeup

  1. Pingback: MAC Artistry at Milan Fashion Week 2014

I love hearing from my readers! Please leave a reply

