Starting The New Year Off With A Bang

I’m getting a jump start on my New Years Resolutions (one day early, such an accomplishment;))

Resolution #1: Get over my resistance to running outside during winter by signing up for the March 22 Run for L’Arche Half-Marathon. Create a new workout training schedule for January -March that includes half marathon training and continues with my new rules of lifting for women program. Goal to complete the half marathon in 2:15.

I created my schedule for the next 12 weeks of half-marathon training. I plan to include two days of New Rules of Lifting for Women and 1 day yoga per week on top of my running. I set a schedule but I am flexible if the days change around based on other commitments.

To kick off my schedule, today I went for my very first outdoor winter run!

20131231-162631.jpg

Originally, I wanted to sign up for the Brita Resolution Run. However, I procrastinated in signing up because I was unsure of my New Years plans and the run sold out. But I didn’t let that get me down. I ran 5km anyways and in the process got a chance to try out my new Garmin!

20131231-162716.jpg

How did the run go?

The good:

It really wasn’t as bad as I thought it would be. I am really, really not a winter person so this is a big challenge for me. I know a lot of people say they actually prefer winter running to summer. Based off my first run, I wouldn’t say I prefer it, but I didn’t hate it either. So I’ll take that as a win.

Also, I dressed right! One of the biggest stresses to me was deciding how to dress for the run. I know people say the biggest mistake most runners make is dressing too warm but I fear being too cold. Today was -5, but -10 with the windchill. I used a great tool from Runners World that helps you decide what to wear based on temperature, wind and how you prefer to feel while running. It told me to wear a winter cap (in Canada we call that a toque), gloves, long sleeve shirt, light jacket & tights. I followed that pretty well and was just the right temperature.

The Bad:

I realized I need a different toque for 2 reasons. First, since my hair was up it caused my toque to be too short to fully cover my ears…

20131231-162658.jpg

My pants are too long which led to them getting very wet by the end of my run.

20131231-162738.jpg

And lastly, today I ran on residential streets around my house. This led to some pretty dodgy sidewalks full of ice that hadn’t been cleared. I realized I either need to invest in some crampons or go to cleared running paths to avoid falling which may injure both myself and my pride.

Resolution #2 Increase water intake to a minimum of 1500 mL daily. Record intake using My Fitness Pal. Evaluate number of days target achieved at the end of each week.

I’ve already started tracking my water on My Fitness Pal and for the past 3 days have met my water goal. Today, I have been preparing myself for the dehydration I am going to inflict upon myself tonight and already drank over 2L of water! Ideally, I would rather be at 2L every day, but I am terrible for not drinking enough water. So I’m taking baby steps.

Resolution #3 Make a habit of taking my vitamins daily. Fill a pill container at the beginning of every week and take my vitamins with breakfast.

I filled my grandma-like pill container and actually remembered to take my vitamins with breakfast. I know this resolution will probably be the hardest for me to keep. Even if those vitamins are right in front of me I forget them all the time!!

20131231-162806.jpg

Now it’s time to get myself all pretty, head to my friend’s New Years Eve party and have a few adult beverages.

Happy New Years everyone! Wishing you all the best in 2014.

I love hearing from my readers! Please leave a reply

