A Very Productive New Years Day

Last night I rang in the New Year with a great group of friends!

For my makeup, I didn’t follow any of my previous New Years Eve makeup tutorials . Instead, I went with a pink & black smokey eye.

P1030135

20140101-183539.jpg

Then it was off to my friend’s for the party. The house party had lots of great food.

P1030144

And of course some alcohol, including Jager Bomb’s in Red Solo Cup shot glasses & coffee mugs. Classy!

20140101-183601.jpg

Then we played an awesome game. It’s called Heads Up. You can download it as an App on your iPhone. We had so much fun and the video play back is so worth it!

P1030147

Then it was time for the countdown, complete with sparklers, horns & champagne!

P1030159

P1030164

Even after all of that, today I woke up feeling great. I am one of those lucky people who don’t get hungover. Yes, I know you’re jealous…

jealous

Today is a rest day on my workout schedule but I did not exactly rest. I started my morning off by cooking up a batch of protein waffles.

P1030118

I didn’t follow any recipe, I just kind of winged it and they turned out great!

Protein Waffles:

1 Cup Rolled Oats

1/2 Cup Cottage Cheese

1/2 cup Plain Greek Yogurt

1/4 Cup Egg Whites

1 Tsp Brown Sugar

1 Tsp Vanilla

1 Tsp Cinnamon

Put all ingredients into blender and mix well. The mixture remains quite thick and lumpy but it cooks up great. Add the mixture to the waffle iron. Recipe makes 4 waffles.

Each waffle contains 140 calories, 13 g protein & 2 g fibre.

I topped mine with peanut butter and some Aunt Jemima Light Syrup.

20140101-184757.jpg

I then made up a batch of protein pancakes to freeze. I ran out of greek yogurt so I made up a new recipe for this batch and decided to add in a few extra ingredients.

Flax Protein Pancakes:

1 Cup Rolled Oats

1 Cup Cottage Cheese

1/4 Cup Egg Whites

1 Tsp Brown Sugar

1/2 Tbsp Flaxseed

1 Tbsp Wheat Bran

1 Tsp Cinnamon

Mix all ingredients in a blender. Add to heated pan and cook each side about 3 minutes. This recipe made 6 small pancakes.

Each pancake has 100 calories, 9 g protein & 2 g fibre.

After breakfast I cleaned my kitchen and swept & mopped my floors. Next, I headed out to do a little shopping. This year, I want to work a little bit on my style. Currently I have very little absolutely zero fashion sense. Part of the problem is I’m extremely cheap when it comes to clothes. While spending money at Sephora or MAC always seems like a great idea, when it comes to buying a new pair of jeans or shoes, my purse strings suddenly tighten.

cheap

One thing I have wanted for a very long time is a pair of boots. All I own currently are a pair of knock-off Uggs. And while they are practical and warm, they aren’t very stylish. But the idea of spending $100+ on boots has always held me back. However, today was my day, boots at Spring were on sale. I ended up getting a pair for $64. Score!

P1030178

The other thing I’ve wanted to try are leggings. Other people look really good wearing them and they look very comfy. Bootlegger was having a 30% off their entire store sale. So I found a pair of leggings there and while I was at it I also picked up a new pair of jeans and 2 shirts. All of that for $49. Now that’s my kind of shopping! Cheap, cheap, cheap!

After the mall I was off to Safeway to pick up a few groceries. Apparently everyone is getting their act together for healthy eating in the New Year because everything I was looking for was missing! The yogurt section was insane. I couldn’t find the kind of yogurt that I usually buy for Tom or myself.

When I got home I decided to bake up some banana bread. I made it somewhat healthy by using 1/2 whole grain flour & substituting applesauce for butter. However, I added chocolate chips…so not exactly a health food anymore. I actually prefer my banana bread sans chocolate, which is weird considering my love of all things chocolate. But Tom gets very upset when I bake banana bread without chocolate and since he had to work for New Years and didn’t get to join in on the festivities, I decided to give him this one.

P1030181

And then as if that wasn’t enough. I still felt a little energetic and decided it was time to remove the Christmas decorations from my house and then vacuum up the 1000 pine needles from the carpet. I really love the real tree but it made a HUGE mess!

Now, I’m going to chill out and have a relaxing and restful evening, I think I deserved it.

How was your New Years Eve? Did you get put to anything productive today or did you have a “rest” day?

One thought on “A Very Productive New Years Day

  1. Pingback: Vintage 1960 Aunt Jemima Pancakes Commercial « Keitochan Says:

I love hearing from my readers! Please leave a reply

