Weekly Wrap-Up.

I had a great week of workouts and delicious (mostly) healthy food!

Weekly Workouts:

I started out Monday with a New Rules of Lifting for Women workout. This will be the last workout in my current gym for the next 2 weeks as it is closing for renovations. ūüė¶ On a positive note, that will likely mean that my gym will miss the influx of gym newbies with New Years Resolutions. I have nothing against the newbies. In fact, I encourage and love seeing new people trying to improve their lifestyle and start working out. I would just rather they do it somewhere else besides my gym and my machines.

pouting

Tuesday, I started my New Years Resolution out early by going for my very first outdoor run! I ran 5 km (3 Miles) in 33 minutes.

20131231-162631.jpg

Wednesday, I took a rest day! But it wasn’t very restful. Check out my productive new years day post.

My “long run” this week was scheduled to be 7 km. I was planning for Saturday but I took a look at the forecast and my plans quickly changed. Saturday was supposed to be -21 whereas Thursday was supposed to be 8 degrees! I am a newbie to this winter running thing so the 8 degree day was definitely more enticing to me!

20140102-200250.jpg

Friday, I went out snowshoeing! This is only the second time I have ever tried it. Last year, Tom and I went on a group tour out of Banff for my birthday. We loved it but I really had no idea how to go about heading out on our own. Recently, I met a guy at my gym who goes snowshoeing all the time who offered to take us out and show us the trails. It was a great day for it. The weather was -4 degrees with very little wind and it had snowed all night before. So while the roads getting out there were a touch dodgy, it was worth it because the trails were fresh with snow!

P1030184

A lot of snow!

P1030186

Snowshoeing is a great sport for someone like me who is too clumsy to go downhill skiing or snowboarding but still enjoys getting outside in the winter and getting some exercise. And seeing the beautiful Rocky Mountain views never hurts either.

P1030188

P1030189

P1030191

Saturday, I did my second New Rules of Lifting for Women workout for the week. I checked out a new gym in my area. It was pretty good, although, I’ve heard it can get pretty full of high school kids. So next week when school is back in, it might be a different story.

high school

And then today I went to Hot Yoga! I got a yoga mat for Christmas and this was my first time trying it out. Last time I went to hot yoga, I had to take many breaks. I realized I didn’t properly hydrate the day before. So yesterday I made sure I drank lots of water and I made it through the class today without any breaks, such a difference!

Weekly Food:

If you follow me on Instagram, you’ll get to see a lot more of my food choices and recipes. But here is some of my tasty eats this week!

Greek Yogurt Parfait

IMG_3470

 

Ingredients: (1 serving)

1/2 cup Plain Greek Yogurt

1 Tsp brown sugar

1 tsp vanilla

1/4 cup homemade granola

1/2 banana sliced

1/2 Tbsp Chia Seeds

1/2 Tbsp Hemp Hearts

2 Tbsp Dried Cranberries

Directions: Mix brown sugar & vanilla into greek yogurt. Top with additional ingredients. And load cinnamon on top!

Grilled Vegetable Tuna Salad

IMG_3482

Ingredients: (1 Serving)

2 Cups Chopped Romaine Lettuce

1/4 Cup Chopped Zucchini

1/2 Bell Pepper, Chopped

1 Roma Tomato, Chopped

1/2 Tbsp Olive Oil

1 Tbsp Balsamic Vinegar

1 Clove Garlic, Minced

1/2 Container Flaked Tuna in Water

2 Tbsp Feta Cheese

1/4 Avocado, Sliced

Mix zucchini, pepper & tomato in bowl. Add olive oil, balsamic vinegar & minced garlic. Stir well. Allow mixture to marinate (or you can cook immediately, longer marination will increase flavour). Add marinated vegetables to frying pan on medium heat. Fry gently for 3-5 minutes.

Top romaine lettuce with tuna & feta cheese. Add cooked marinated vegetables on top. Slice avocado  on top of prepared salad and enjoy.

Breakfast Burrito

P1030197

Ingredients: (1 Serving):

2 Eggs

1 Tbsp Milk

1/4 Cup Chopped Bell Pepper

1 Roma Tomato, Chopped

Franks Red Hot Sauce (to taste)

Salsa (to taste)

1 Whole Grain Tortilla

1/4 Cup Light Cheddar

In bowl beat together eggs, milk & hot sauce. Add in tomato & pepper. Add mixture to pan on medium heat. Stir until eggs are cooked. Add cheddar cheese and allow cheese to melt.

Add mixture into whole grain tortilla. Wrap tortilla and place back into pan. Lightly grill burrito on both sides.

Serve with salsa.

What did you get up to this week? Did you try out any new tasty meals?

I love hearing from my readers! Please leave a reply

