Makeup Monday – Concealer Smackdown

I have really bad hereditary under eye circles. These aren’t the type that can be fixed by eye cream, a good nights rest or water. I’ve had them since I was a kid and they aren’t going anywhere. Because of that, I have made significant investment in concealer over the years. When my parents saw my dark under eye circles they should have bought stock in a concealer company!

Unfortunately, after years of many concealers & many brands, I still don’t have a favourite. Just a look in my current makeup drawer and I have 6 concealers that I currently use, not including any correctors or brighteners. So I decided to put them to the test and do a true concealer smack down!

concealer smackdown

I took before and after pictures using every concealer that I currently own. I tried to be consistent with holding the camera and flash vs no flash for the pictures. I didn’t want lighting or any other factors to confound my results. The pictures aren’t super flattering, but I’m posting them in the name of science!

Prices listed are in Canadian dollars and reflect an average.

Garnier Skin Renew Anti-Dark Circles Roller – $15

garnier

Garnier Concealer

Pros:

-Lightweight

-Easy to Apply

-Does not crease

Cons:

-Minimal coverage

-High price for a drug store brand

Maybelline Fit Me Concealer – $8

maybelline

Maybelling Fit Me

Pros:

-Excellent coverage

-Great packaging & Doe-foot applicator

Cons:

-Formula is sticky/tacky. Needs to be set with powder

-Tiny amount of creasing

Cle De Peau – $75

cleadepeau

Clea De Peau

Pros:

-Excellent Coverage

-Long lasting

Cons:

-Creases and settles into fine lines

-Smudges with under eye makeup easily

Tarte Maracuja Creaseless Concealer – $29

tarte concealer

tarte

Pros:

-Medium coverage

-Creamy consistency

Cons:

-Settles into fine lines

-Packaging deceiving, small amount of product

Hard Candy Glamoflauge – $4

flamoflauge hard candy

glamoflauge

Pros:

-Good coverage & does not crease

-Inexpensive with large amount of product

Cons:

-Thick formula, can be difficult to apply

-Some flashback with camera flash

Mac Pro Longwear Concealer – $23

mac prolongwear

mac

Pros:

Long lasting & does not crease

-Great as eye primer

Cons:

-Packaging – product wastage

-Sticky/tacky consistency. Needs to be set with powder

Overall Opinion

Overall, I think this shows that top dollar doesn’t always give you a superior product. While Cle De Peau gives excellent coverage, I find it settles too much into my fine lines and for that reason I often pass it by when choosing a concealer. On the other hand, the cheapest concealers, Glamoflauge gave very similar coverage for a fraction of the cost.

My top pick overall would be Maybelline Fit Me Concealer. I think it has excellent coverage, it doesn’t crease and you can’t beat that price!

Are you a concealer hoarder? What’s your favourite concealer for under eye?

8 thoughts on “Makeup Monday – Concealer Smackdown

  1. Awesome post – I love seeing them on you. I use the Tarte concealer but I’m going to try the Maybelline Fit Me – I’ve heard great things about it and it looks great on you.

  2. My favourite concealer is Benefit Erase Paste. It literally stopped me from having eye-bag surgery…I’m not kidding. That plus Skinceuticals Aox Eye Gel…magical. And I have hereditary huge bags AND discolouration above and below my eyes.

  3. I picked #2 also before I saw your pick. That really is a remarkable difference. I remember those circles from when you were a little kid…they’ve always been there 😦
    I don’t have those, instead was blessed with deep creases in my forhead. Have had them since I was a kid…any suggestions on line fillers/erasers??

  4. I use a Korres concealer that you taught me to apply properly. The only problem is that it doesn’t last very long. Frustrating when you spend a good amount of coin for a little tub. Any thoughts on how to make it last longer?

I love hearing from my readers! Please leave a reply

