Roasting Beets & More Protein Pancakes

I’ve already had a very productive weekend so far. Keep in mind, my weekend starts on Friday since I only work Monday-Thursday.

long weekend

Yesterday I started out my day by going to Bulk Barn for the first time. People have been raving about this place. I thought, what’s the big deal, it’s just bulk stuff. Well that may be true but IT’S AWESOME!! They have everything….cereals, grains, sugar, candy, chocolate, teas, spices, etc. The list could go on. You name it and they have it. I felt like a kid in a candy store.

IMG_3557

I was hungry when I was shopping which is not a good idea. I tried to avoid the candy aisle so I wouldn’t be tempted. I ended up getting a pretty good haul of things. I bought rolled oats, quinoa, steel cut oats, pumpkin seeds, chia seeds, buckwheat, lentils, barley, white beans, chickpeas & brown sugar. And it was sooo cheap!

IMG_3558

Oh and I also got some clodhoppers….because they were in the baking aisle, not the candy aisle! Those tricky bulk barn workers know how to sucker me.

After bulk barn, I went to Dollarama to pick up some containers so I could organize all of my bulk items. (Except the clodhoppers those were gone immediately)

P1030270

I also went to the farmers market. My main objective was to buy some beets that I could prep and roast to freeze because I just ran out of the last of my stock pile.

Tom & I love beets! But they can be very time consuming to prep. Therefore, I prefer to buy a large batch and get the prep over with all at once. I then freeze individual batches so they are ready whenever I want them.

P1030253

How to Roast & Freeze Beets:

Step 1: Preheat oven to 350

Step 2: Wash beets

Step 3: Line cookie sheet with tinfoil and add washed beets

Step 4: Coat beets with olive oil. To do this I pour some olive oil in my hand and massage it onto each of the beets. You don’t need a lot, for my 4 lb bag of beets I probably used about 1.5 Tablespoons of olive oil

Step 5: Season beets. You can use whatever seasoning you choose, I used Mrs. Dash Garlic & Herb

Step 6: Bake beets for 1:30-2:00, until beets can be pierced with a fork

Step 7: Allow beets to cool completely

Step 8: Remove beet peels. You may be able to do this by simply rubbing the beets or you may wish to use a knife. I cut off the pointy tip of the beet and then pull the peels upwards towards the root.

Step 9: Slice beets

Step 10: Portion beets into freezer bags and freeze

When you want to eat the beets you can roast them again. I usually add a little more olive oil & seasoning and bake for 20-30 minutes at 350. Or, you can simply unthaw and eat them as is.

Also, when you’re finished with your beets, don’t forget to wash your hands before heading out so you are not mistaken for a murderer.

P1030259

Today, I had to make up some more protein pancakes. We are going through them so fast! Tom just loves them and requested that I make some more ASAP.

moar

I tried out yet another new protein pancake recipe. I am going to call this one the ultimate protein pancake because it is chock full of every imaginable health food & loaded with protein & fibre.

P1030274

Ultimate Protein Pancakes: (makes 6 pancakes)

Ingredients:

1 Cup Cottage Cheese

1/2 Cup Plain Greek Yogurt

1/4 Cup Egg Whites

1 Cup Rolled Oats

1/4 Cup Unsweetened Applesauce

1 Tbsp Natural Almond Butter

1 Tbsp Ground Flaxseed

1 Tbsp Chia Seeds

1/2 Tbsp Buckwheat

1/4 Cup All Bran Buds

1 Tsp Cinnamon

Put all ingredients, except chia seeds & buckwheat into blender & blend well. Mix in chia seeds & buckwheat. Pour into frying pan and cook each side about 3 minutes.

1 pancake contains 150 calories, 12g protein & 5g fibre.

What have you been up to this weekend?

I love hearing from my readers! Please leave a reply

