Weekly Wrap-up & Yummy Ground Turkey Recipes

I have some yummy recipes in store for you from this week. But fist, a recap of my weekly workouts.

Monday: 

I took an unscheduled rest day. I know what you’re thinking. Didn’t I just write a post this week about how to get over excuses for skipping a workout? Why yes I did. However, Monday was a little different. My body just felt tired, it was telling me that I needed a rest. And sometimes you just have to listen to your body despite your planned workout schedule.

rest

Tuesday:

I completed a 30 minute tempo run including my “magic mile“.

Wednesday: 

I did a 3 mile (5km) run using the Run-Walk-Run method for the first time.

Thursday:

I took another rest day. This day was scheduled and I decided to keep the rest day since the next day is my long run day.

Friday:

I completed my long run. 5 miles (8km).

garmin

Yes, I was a total dork who wore two watches! While my Garmin has a heart rate monitor, it doesn’t track calories burned. It only tells you your heart rate while you’re running. I also enjoy being able to look at my time/pace at the same time as my heart rate, without having to fiddle with buttons.

Saturday:

I completed another day of The New Rules of Lifting for Women. I only have 2 days left on stage 2 and then I will be able to post my next recap.

Sunday:

Another day of hot yoga. I love ending my week this way. I feel so relaxed and calm during yoga and I feel completely reenergized for the next week when I leave.

Now enough blabbering about my workouts. On to what you really care about…

Tasty Recipes

turkey meatball casserole

I got the basis of this recipe from Peanut Butter Fingers blog but I made my own adjustments.

Ingredients:

Homemade Turkey Meatballs (see recipe below)

1/2 Whole Wheat French Baguette, sliced into 1 inch thick slices

1 Jar Marinara Sauce

1/2 Cup Cottage Cheese

2 Tbsp Plain Greek Yogurt

2 Cup Shredded Light Mozzarella Cheese

1/2 Tbsp Olive Oil

1/2 Tsp Basil

1/2 Tsp Oregano

1/2 Tsp Parsley

1/2 Tsp Garlic Powder

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

2. Line 9 inch baking sheet with sliced baguettes. Combine olive oil & garlic powder. Lightly brush baguettes with olive oil mixture.

3. Mix cottage cheese, greek yogurt, parsley, oregano & basil. Pour mixture on top of baguettes & top with 1/2 shredded cheese. Bake 6-7 minutes.

4. Remove casserole from oven. Mix marinara sauce with homemade cooked meatballs and pour on top of bread.

5. Top with remaining mozzarella cheese

6. Bake casserole for approximately 5-7 minutes (or until sauce is hot). Broil for 2 minutes.

Homemade Turkey Meatballs:

Ingredients:

1 Package Lean Ground Turkey

1/4 Cup Breadcrumbs

1 Tsp Oregano

1 Tsp Basil

1 Tsp Onion Powder (I didn’t have an onion in the house, you could replace with sautéed onions)

1/2 Tsp Garlic Powder

Directions;

Mix ingredients together in bowl. Use hands to form meatballs, approx 1 inch wide. On medium heat, cook meatballs in sprayed or non-stick frying pan until cooked through.

turkey butternut squash chili

Ingredients:

1 lb Ground Turkey

1 Can Chickpeas

1 Can Black Beans

1/2 Cup Barley

1 Zucchini sliced and cut into quarters

1 Bell pepper, sliced

1/2 Onion, finely chopped

2 Cups Butternut Squash, cubed

1 12 oz Can Crushed Tomatoes

1L Chicken Broth

2 Cloves Garlic, Minced

1.5 Tbsp Chili Powder

1 Tbsp Oregano

1 Tbsp Basil

1 Tbsp Olive Oil

Directions:

1. In a large pot, heat olive oil. Add garlic & onions, cook few minutes then add ground turkey. Cook turkey through (no longer pink)

2. Add rest of ingredients to pot. Bring to a boil and then reduce heat & allow to simmer. Simmer 30-45 minutes, until barley and butternut squash is tender and sauce has thickened.

3. Enjoy! If desired, top with shredded cheddar cheese & plain greek yogurt.

Hope you enjoy some of these tasty and lower calorie recipes!

How did your workouts go this week? Do you have any tasty turkey recipes?

2 thoughts on “Weekly Wrap-up & Yummy Ground Turkey Recipes

  1. Are you kidding me? Turkey Butternut Squash Chili? I love you. This looks amazing and I am rushing out to make this this week. Congrats on a great week. I need some inspiration. I’ve been a slug. Thanks for posting these great recipes.

I love hearing from my readers! Please leave a reply

