Makeup Monday – Golden Globe Beauty & How To Get The Look

Did you watch the Golden Globes last night? I did! And while the awards show itself is fine, I really watch it for the fashion & beauty.

My favourite dresses of the night:

Although, I had never heard of the show or the actress before, when Brooklyn 99 won for best comedy, I couldn’t help but notice the stunning cobalt blue dress Stefanie Beatriz was wearing.

Actress Chelsea Peretti, Melissa Fumero and Stephanie Beatriz from Brooklyn Nine-Nine pose backstage at the 71st annual Golden Globe Awards in Beverly Hills

While, not something I would wear, I loved Cate Blanchett’s dress and whole look. She looked incredibly elegant and timeless.

cateblanchett

Another dress I would never wear but absolutely loved was Amy Adam’s dress. It looked stunning on her and payed great homage to her American Hustle style.

amy adams

And lastly, I love, love, love Sofia Vergara’s dress. It was spectacular and I would give anything to wear such an amazing dress. And to top it off with that bold statement necklace, just perfection!

sofia vergara

As for beauty looks. I noticed a lot of very natural looks on the red carpet this year. Nude lips were definitely a hit and as always, red lips.

My Favourite Beauty Looks of The Night:

Kerry Washington, from Scandal, looked amazing. I loved her smokey eye.

kerry washington

Taylor Swift, pulled off another great red carpet look. Very timeless with a red lip.

taylor swift gg 2

Monica Potter, from Parenthood, looked stunning. I loved her dress, although I’ve seen a lot of criticism for it online. And I thought her hair and makeup were both so beautiful.

monica potter gg

I also loved Kate Beckinsales look. Very similar to Kerry Washington with a smokey eye & nude lip.

71st Annual Golden Globe Awards - Arrivals

As soon as the Golden Globes were over, I was inspired to do some makeup & recreate one of my favourite looks. So yes, at 9 o’clock at night, I put on a full face of makeup, took pictures and then washed it off. I’m not crazy…I just love makeup.

I decided to recreate Kate Beckinsale’s look. I loved her smokey eye. It was nice but not overpowering and didn’t include any heavy eyeliner. She also had gorgeous glowing skin. While I desperately need a tan to fully pull off this look, I can show you how to recreate her eye makeup & glowing skin.

P1030427

P1030382

Products used:

-Smashbox Photo Finish Primer

-Mac Full Coverage Foundation

-Maybelline Fit Me Concealer

-Glamoflauge Heavy Duty Concealer

-Mac Mineralize Skinfinish Natural

-Urban Decay Primer Potion

-MAC Eyeshadow – Wedge

-MAC Eyeshadow – Shroom

-Urban Decay Eyshadow –  Mushroom

-MAC eyeshadow –  Knight Divine

-Makeup Geek Eyshadow – Galaxy

-MAC eye pencil – Ebony

-Benefit They’re Real Mascara

-Nars Illuminator – Copacabana

-Nars Bronzer – Laguna

-MAC Powder Blush – Style

-MAC Lipstick –  Blankety

Directions:

  1. Apply foundation primer, foundation, concealer & powder
  2. Fill in eyebrows
  3. Prime eyelids with eyeshadow primer
  4. Using a fluffy dome brush such as MAC 217, shade outer corner of eye and crease with MAC wedge (or taupe/brown shade 1-2 shades darker than skin tone)
  5. Using flat shader brush, pat Urban Decay’s Mushroom onto lower lid (or satin taupe-grey colour)
  6. Using fluffy dome brush, shade outer V of eye with Mac Knight Divine (or dark satin gray colour)
  7. Spray flat eyeliner brush with water or setting spray such as Mac Fix Plus. Dip into dark satin grey colour and line upper and lower lash line. I used Makeup Geek Galaxy.
  8. Using pencil brush, smudge lower lash line with Urban Decay Mushroom.
  9. Highlight brow bone & inner corner of eye with MAC Shroom
  10. Using black eyeliner, line lower waterline
  11. Curl eyelashes & apply mascara
  12. Lightly contour cheekbone using bronzer 1-2 shades darker than your skin tone. I used NARS Laguna.
  13. Add blush. I used Style by MAC, a slightly shimmery peach colour
  14. Using fingers apply NARS illuminator along cheekbone and small amount onto apple of the cheek.
  15. Line lips and apply nude lipstick. I used MAC blankety. Apply gloss, I used MAC clear lip glass
  16. Set makeup with finishing spray

What were your favourite dresses or beauty looks from the Golden Globes?

I love hearing from my readers! Please leave a reply

