Vegetables & Lentils for Breakfast? Why Not!?!

I am not a morning person. Now, I know a lot of people say that but truly, I am not a morning person. It was a well-known rule in my house growing up that in the morning – thou shalt not talk to Jen until she has spoken to you. If you broke this rule, you would likely race my wrath.

morning

The one thing that helps me get through the morning is coffee! Tom got me this mug when he went to Disneyland and I think it sums me up perfectly.

Pre Coffee:

IMG_3686

Post Coffee:

IMG_3687

Because I hate mornings and getting up, on weekdays I sleep in as long as I possibly can. This means that I generally have about 10 minutes or less for breakfast and sometimes I even end up taking my breakfast to eat at work. Therefore, convenience is key for my breakfasts. But what I don’t want is this kind of convenience….

poptart

I want a good healthy breakfast that also happens to be very quick and convenient. So I decided to try my hand at making some healthy breakfast muffins.

I got the basis of the recipe from one of my favourite cookbooks I’ve mentioned before, Spilling the Beans but I made them even healthier by substituting a few ingredients and adding a few ingredients.

beans

Morning Glory Muffins

Makes 24 Muffins

Ingredients:

  • 1 Cup Flour
  • 1 Cup Whole Wheat Flour
  • 1/2 Cup Brown Sugar
  • 2 Tsp Baking Soda
  • 1/4 Tsp Salt
  • 2 TspCinnamon
  • 2 Tsp Vanilla
  • 1 Cup Shredded Zucchini
  • 1 Cup Shredded Carrot
  • 1 Shredded Apple
  • 1/3 Cup Red Lentils
  • 1/4 Cup Ground Flaxseed
  • 3 Tbsp Chia Seeds
  • 1/2 Cup Unsweetened Apple Sauce
  • 1/4 Cup + 1 Tbsp Egg Whites
  • 1 Cup Buttermilk
  • 1/2 Cup Dried Cranberries

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees
  2. Add red lentils to pot and cover with water. Boil until soft – about 10-15 minutes. Drain.
  3. In a large bowl, mix together flours, ground flax, chia seeds, sugar, baking soda, cinnamon & salt
  4. Add in shredded carrots, zucchini, apples & dried cranberries
  5. In a separate small bowl mix together apple sauce, buttermilk, vanilla  & egg whites
  6. Add liquid mixture to large bowl along with lentils and mix just until combined. Do not overmix.
  7. Spray muffin tins with cooking spray and fill.
  8. Bake 25-30 minutes or until springy to touch

These are seriously so tasty and filling! They are the perfect solution to my convenience breakfast dilemma. I just put them into Ziploc bags and store in the freezer. In the morning I warm in the microwave. I love them topped with some almond butter for extra protein.

P1040002

Do they taste healthy? Well, they aren’t a Tim Hortons chocolate chip muffin. They are healthy breakfast but they seriously taste delicious.

Each muffin contains 90 calories, 1 g fat, 3g protein & 3 g fibre.

What quick & healthy breakfast foods do you love?

2 thoughts on “Vegetables & Lentils for Breakfast? Why Not!?!

  1. When it says 1 cup flour, then 1 cup WW flour.. is that a typo or do you use another type of flour? Your recipes look delicious btw 🙂

I love hearing from my readers! Please leave a reply

