Chocolate Chip Peanut Butter Protein Bars & Kale Chips

Is your mouth watering just from reading the post’s title? It should be because I have two delicious treats in store for you today!

The first, is my protein bars. I have trouble making things with protein powder, I always find that despite trying to hide it amongst other flavours, that protein flavour always comes through.

baby gif

But I decided to give it a go anyways with some protein bars. And this time, it worked! These protein bars taste so amazing. I seriously could have just eaten the whole pan at once after I made them (I do not advise this).

No Bake Chocolate Chip Peanut Butter Protein Bars

P1040005

Ingredients:

  • 1 Cup Protein Powder (I used mocha cappuccino flavour)
  • 1 1/2 Cup Peanut Butter
  • 1/4 Cup Liquid Honey
  • 1/2 Tbsp Vanilla
  • 2 Cups Rice Krispies
  • 3/4 Cup Rolled Oats
  • 1/2 Cup Chocolate Chips (optional but tasty)

Directions:

  1. In a large bowl mix together Rice Krispies, rolled oats, protein powder & chocolate chips
  2. In a pot add peanut butter, honey & vanilla. Turn on low-medium heat until peanut butter is slightly melted. You aren’t trying to cook the mixture, just want it to be thin enough that you can stir it into the dry ingredients.
  3. Drizzle peanut butter mixture onto dry ingredients and mix well
  4. Spray 9 x 13 cake pan with cooking spray and add mixture. Pat down firmly with hands
  5. Cool in fridge for 30 minutes and then cut (cut size can vary based on your calorie & protein needs)
  6. Wrap bars individually – store in fridge or freezer for future use

1 bar (based on 24 cut) contains 165 calories & 7g protein.

Next up is kale chips. I have heard lots about kale chips and definitely seen them pinned on Pinterest but despite my love of kale I had not yet attempted making them. Well I don’t know what I was waiting for because they are so simple to make and are a delicious very low-calorie snack.

Balsamic Kale Chips:

P1040013

Ingredients:

  • 1 Bunch Kale
  • 1 Tbsp Olive Oil
  • 1/2 Tbsp Balsamic Vinegar
  • Mrs. Dash (any flavour – I used garlic & herb)

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees
  2. Line cookie sheet with parchment paper or tin foil
  3. Cut stems off of kale and tear into approximately 2 inch pieces. Wash and dry well. It is important that the kale is very dry. I spun it in my salad spinner and then dried if further with some paper towel
  4. Put kale into large bowl and add olive oil & balsamic vinegar. Stir well so that each piece of kale is coated
  5. Place kale onto cookie sheet & season with Mrs. Dash to taste
  6. Bake for 10-15  minutes. Check the kale at 10 minutes as it can burn very quickly.
  7. Enjoy!

These are meant to be enjoyed right away. I tried making a large batch and having them later but the kale lost its crispness and became soggy. But since they are so simple and quick they can be made when you need them. I whipped up another batch at lunch today to enjoy with some leftover pizza from last night.

IMG_3693

Hope you enjoy some of these tasty and super simple snack ideas!

Have you tried kale chips before?

I love hearing from my readers! Please leave a reply

