Weekly Wrap-Up

Well, it’s that time of the week!

Weekly Workouts: 

I didn’t get in as many workouts as usual this week. Oh well, you win some and you lose some. Next week I can try for better!

Monday:

Monday was my first day back to the gym after vacation. I started Stage 3 of the New Rules of Lifting for Women. It was intense. It was one of those days when you can barely walk out of the gym because your muscles are just spent.

Tuesday: 

Tuesday, I was supposed to go for a run but my body said no, no, no.

no

Wednesday:

On Wednesday, I was at the gym about to change into my workout clothes when I received a text from my sister-in-law. She was flying home from Victoria to Saskatoon and had a layover in Calgary. Unfortunately, her flight from Calgary to Saskatoon got cancelled and she asked if she could crash at our place. While she graciously offered to wait at the airport so I could complete my workout, that made me feel way too guilty. So I left the gym and had a great night chatting and catching up with her over a bottle of wine.

Thursday:

Thursday was supposed to be my makeup day for Tuesday. Unfortunately, when I woke up Thursday morning I was soooo tired. One of those days where there is not enough coffee in the world to wake you up and believe me, I tried! At the end of the day I knew I had to make the call. Go to the gym or nap. And since, I had to make it through teaching a weight loss class Thursday night, I knew my better option was nap. And it was glorious!

nap

Friday:

Friday I did another New Rules of Lifting for Women workout.

Saturday: 

Saturday, I was planning to do my long run for the week, 7 miles. Unfortunately, it was very cold outside so I knew treadmill was my only option. My gym is very small and only has 3 treadmills. So of course, about 15 minutes into my run, someone put their name on the list for my treadmill. So I finished off 3 miles and begrudgingly gave up my machine. I then did an ab workout and decided to call it a day.

Sunday:

I didn’t want a repeat of Saturday’s troubles with the treadmill and since it was still too cold to run outside, I decided to head to a local YMCA which has lots of treadmills. I finished my 7 mile run in 1:08 and bonus, I got go catch up on Say Yes to the Dress

syttd

 

Weekly Eats:

I already shared a bunch of recipes this week – kale chips, peanut butter protein bars & morning glory muffins. But, I have one more to share for this week. This is one of my favourite easy weeknight meals to make. Supper is ready in about 10 minutes and it tastes absolutely delicious!

Black Bean Burritos

P1040066

Ingredients:

  • 1 Can Black Beans – drained and rinsed
  • 1 Can Diced Tomatoes, drained
  • 1/2 Onion, chopped small
  • 2 Cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/2 Bell pepper, chopped
  • 1/2 zucchini, chopped
  • 3 Tbsp Cream Cheese
  • 1/2 Tbsp Olive Oil

Directions:

  1. Heat large frying pan on medium heat. Add olive oil
  2. Add onions & garlic and fry until onions are tedner
  3. Add zucchini & bell pepper and fry for about 5 minutes (or per your preference)
  4. Add black beans & canned diced tomatoes. Stir well and allow mixture to simmer for 2-3 minutes
  5. Add cream cheese and stir until mixed wellS
  6. Scoop black bean mixture into whole grain tortilla. Optionally, serve with grated cheddar, salsa & sour cream and enjoy!

This recipe makes a large portion, enough for about 6 burritos. I often will just eat the bean burrito filling on its own the next day for leftovers. Alternatively, it’s very good topped on a bed of rice.

How did your week go? Did you have better luck with your workouts than I did?

 

I love hearing from my readers! Please leave a reply

