The Biggest Loser Finale & A Healthy Cream Sauce Recipe

First of all, I want to apologize for not posting yesterday. It ended up being a crazy hectic day. I was home for about a total of 30 minutes and during that time I made Rice Krispie squares for a work potluck & finished off a French Silk Pie for Tom’s Birthday, which is today! (Happy Birthday Tom). To answer your question, yes, I am superwoman.

superwoman

But anyways, did you watch the Biggest Loser Finale last night? Truthfully, I did not but boy did I hear about it today. In case you haven’t heard the big top story, Rachel Frederickson was crowned the winner of the Biggest Loser last night after a shocking transformation.

biggest loser

She lost 155 pounds! Taking her from 260 lbs to 105lbs. What’s the big controversy? At this weight she is currently in the underweight category based on BMI. (Current BMI = 18, healthy body weight range minimum is 18.5).

What are my thoughts?

I think the biggest loser techniques are extreme and definitely do not promote a realistic image of weight loss to the general population. However, the show does motivate a lot of people towards their fitness goals and realizing their own potential.

In terms of Rachel’s dramatic transformation, when there is $250,000 on the line, I’m sure the competitors do everything they can in the final few days to ensure they are at their lowest possible weight. My guess is that this includes some very popular bodybuilder techniques to shed water weight. Therefore, likely Rachel’s weight is actually higher than that 105 pounds once she becomes rehydrated. In order for Rachel to be considered in the healthy body weight range, her weight would need to be 108 pounds. So all of this controversy is over 3 pounds, when likely she would meet that healthy body range cut-off when fully hydrated. Therefore, I do believe she is being unfairly treated and unfortunately her personal triumphs are being overshadowed by controversy.

There is probably a lot more I could say on my topic, but I’ll leave my thoughts there. And moving on, I wanted to share with you a dinner I made the other night. Tom and I had people over for Super Bowl on Sunday. Which, by the way I totally forgot to take picture of any of the food I made! Another blogger fail..

But after the game we had a lot of leftover food. Leftover party food is sometimes the worst because it’s so random and snack type food that doesn’t really make a meal. So often I find I put everything in the fridge, never end up eating it and then tossing it a few days later. But I hate tossing out perfectly good food, feels like I might as well throw money in the garbage. So I was determined this time to use up the random bits of food leftover. Which inspired me to create this pasta dish with my leftover vegetables, garlic sausage & cheese.

Garlic Sausage Pasta with Healthy Cream Sauce

P1040095

Directions:

In a large pot heat water to boiling and add whole wheat rotini pasta, cook until tender (about 12 minutes). In the meantime, in a separate pot add about 1 tsp olive oil and allow to heat. Add in 3 cups chopped kale, chopped garlic sausage & chopped bell peppers. (you can customize this however you like, this was based on what I had left in the fridge). Cook mixture on medium heat for about 5 minutes, stirring frequently so kale doesn’t burn. Mix together cooked pasta, garlic sausage mixture and top with cream sauce.

Healthy Cream Sauce:

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 Cup Chicken Broth (could also use vegetable)
  • 1 Cup Skim Milk
  • 1 tsp olive oil
  • 3 cloves garlic
  • 3 Tbsp Flour
  • 1/4 Cup Cheese (I used light marble because that’s what I had, although parmesan would give you that more traditional cream sauce taste)
  • Red Pepper Flakes (to taste)
  • 1 tsp Basil
  • Pepper (to taste)

Directions:

  1. Heat large frying pan/skillet on medium heat. Add olive oil. Once heated, add garlic and simmer for a few minutes
  2. Add milk & chicken broth and bring almost to a boil
  3. Reduce heat and add flour, whisk well. Continue to constantly stir until sauce thickens
  4. Remove from heat and add cheese, basil, red pepper flakes & pepper.
  5. Toss with pasta mixture & enjoy

This supper turned out great! It was very simple and you would never know the cream sauce was so low fat!

What are your thoughts on the Biggest Loser finale and the controversy?

2 thoughts on “The Biggest Loser Finale & A Healthy Cream Sauce Recipe

  1. I have to say that I disagree completely with your opinion on the Biggest Loser finale. Maybe it’s because you didn’t watch the season and see what an athlete Rachel (which is her name) was. Before she gained all the weight she was a super competitive swimmer and on the ranch you could see the athlete in her come out. On the last show before the finale, just before they went home, the doctor told her that she was at 19% body fat and only 5 pounds from an ideal weight. I understand that it’s a competition and that $250,000.00 is a lot of money but it’s sad to see somebody lose all of their muscle mass, in order to lose an additional 45 pounds. I was cheering for her all along, however when she stepped on the screen my mouth dropped and I no longer wanted her to win as you can see how unhealthy she is. I know that the Biggest Loser is not the healthiest way to lose weight but she was so close to what her goal should have been when she left the ranch. I don’t know if you saw pictures or video of Jillian and Bob’s faces but I think their reaction says that she went too far. Just before coming home they completed a sprint triathlon, she finished in 1:32, there is no way at this time she could do that now and I think that is what makes me the most sad, to go from a healthy athlete to super skinny.

    • Maybe I need to clarify my opinion a little.

      First, in response to the doctor saying she was 5 pounds away from ideal weight when she left the ranch. From my understanding, she left at 150 lbs. So that 5 pounds away would put her at the upper end of the healthy BMI healthy body weight range. While that would put her within the ideal range that may not have been her ideal weight.

      Second, I’m not saying that I think she should have lost that much weight. I debated talking in my post about healthy vs skinny but decided against it. Another post for another time. I just wanted to prove a point that I think the harsh criticism and calling her unhealthy and anorexic is slightly convoluted and harsh. This poor girl probably went through so much criticism in her life for being overweight and now that she has lost the weight she is being criticized again. I just felt for her.

I love hearing from my readers! Please leave a reply

