Birthday Fun!

Yesterday was Tom’s Birthday! To celebrate, even though he didn’t have to work, I woke him up at 6:30 a.m. to drive me to work. Aren’t I a nice wife? Okay, that’s not exactly true. Tom wanted the vehicle so that he could go rock climbing with a friend during the day. I live close enough to work that I can walk, the only problem is we are currently in a cold snap so it’s cold, like really ridiculously cold! But regardless, I planned on walking so Tom could have the car. I had on my long-john’s and layered sweaters and was ready to go but then Tom got up and said he was driving me. I tried to get him to go back to bed but in all honesty, it didn’t take that much to convince me!

For supper, I took Tom to a sushi restaurant. This was a good-wife moment because I do not like sushi but he loves it!

sushi

 

To start we ordered some edamame beans.

20140206-185854.jpg

Tom of course ordered a bunch of sushi.

20140206-190106.jpg

And I ordered something that I thought was going to be a bowl or noodles but turned out to be soup.

20140206-190033.jpg

As you can tell, I don’t frequent sushi or japanese food places often. The awkward part was I had no idea how to properly eat it. As you can see in the picture, it came in a large bowl but it also had two tiny bowls & a ladle. I assumed that I was supposed to scoop the soup into the tiny bowls. But that proved challenging with the long soba noodles. So I gave up on that idea and just ate out of the large bowl. I have no idea if I completed a major faux pas or not.

I did end up trying a couple pieces of Tom’s sushi. I tried a spicy tuna roll which was not too bad and a piece of toro, which Tom said I had to try it because it’s known as one of the best. One tiny piece cost $4.25! Surprisingly, I didn’t mind it. While I can tolerate some sushi, it’s just not something that I love or would consider eating an entire meal of.

After sushi it was time to eat some of the French Silk Pie I made for Tom.

20140206-190130.jpg

French Silk Pie is the pie his Mom always made for Birthdays growing up so it has a special place in Tom’s heart. This is the first time I have ever made the pie because it’s a top secret family recipe. I think Tom had to beg and plead with his Mom to give it to me. So needless to say, I won’t be sharing it here! But I will tell you it was delicious! Tom enjoyed it although I’m not so sure it lived up to his Mom’s recipe.

Do you like sushi? Any idea if I ate my soup correctly or not?

 

 

 

 

I love hearing from my readers! Please leave a reply

