The New Rules Of Lifting For Women – Stage 3

Before I get into my recap I wanted to mention that I got a great opportunity to write a guest blog post for a fellow blogger, Laura at Fit Running Mama. I wrote on post-workout fuel and included some yummy recipes. So check out that post here, and don’t forget to show Laura some love!

Now onto the recap…

Wahoo! Another stage bites the dust.

If you’re new here check out my previous recaps of The New Rules of Lifting For Women:

Overview of the program

Stage One Recap

Stage Two Recap

This stage, like stage 2 is only comprised of 8 workouts. But since I’ve cut back to 2 days per week weight lifting, the stage has taken me a month. In this stage, the workout is a little different because you only do 6 reps but do 3 sets.

The Workouts:

Workout A:

Exercises

Sets

Reps

One-Arm Dumbell Snatch

3

6

Single Leg Romanian Deadlift

3

6

Bent-Over Barbell Row

3

6

Single Hand Overhand Squat

3

6

Dumbell Incline Bench Press

3

6

Plank

3

90 second hold

Reverse Wood Chop

3

6

Body Weight Matrix:24 squats24 lunges (12 each leg)24 lunge jumps (12 each leg)24 Squat JumpsRepeat

2

 

Workout B:

Exercises

Sets

Reps

Barbell Romanian Deadlift/Bent Over Row

3

6

Partial Single Leg Squat

3

6

Wide Grip Lat Pulldown

3

6

Back Extension

3

6

YTWL

3

6

Swiss Ball Crunch

3

6

Hip Flexion

3

6

Laterial Flexion

3

6

Prone Cobra

3

90 second hold

15 minute interval training    

The workouts in this stage took me usually around 1:15-1:30 to complete.

What I did Differently:

  • Again, I did a 15 minute run for warm-up during workout A. This time I didn’t do intervals during workout A just straight runs. No rhyme or reason why, just felt like it!
  • I did all back and ab exercises for 10 reps instead of 6.
  • I didn’t take the recommended rest breaks. The book recommends 105 second rest between eat set (yes I know what an odd number), but honestly I didn’t take this long of rest. I honestly feel silly taking that long of a break. I just stand around not sure what to do with myself. The book gives explanations about why the rest breaks are so important but ultimately, I would rather get home a little sooner. So does it affect my performance? Maybe, but I’m okay with that.

What I liked about this stage: I actually really liked this stage. When I finished today, I was like oh man, it’s time to move on! Whereas the last stage I was like hallelujah! I this stage had a good variety of movements. I also really enjoyed the body-weight matrix portion of workout A. I feel like I haven’t done some regular old squats or lunges in a while and I just liked that part.

What I disliked about this stage: I didn’t love the one legged romanian deadlifts. I honestly kind of felt silly doing them and sometimes I would start to fall over. So I had a hard time going any heavier with the weight because I would afraid I might end up crashing.

Results:

Workout A:

Exercise

Starting Weight

Ending Weight

Dumbell Snatch

15

25

Single Leg Romanian Deadlift

20

25

Bent-Over Barbell Row

Bar + 10

Bar + 30

Single Hand Overhand Squat

8/15

12/20

Dumbell Incline Bench Press

15

25

Reverse Wood Chop

40

55

Workout B:

Exercise

Starting Weight

Ending Weight

Romanian Deadlift/Bent Over Row

Bar only

Bar + 30

Partial Leg Squat

10

30

Wide Grip Lat Pulldown

55

55

Back Extension

BW

10

YTWL

8

10

Swiss Ball Crunch

25

35

NROL3

NROL4

I wouldn’t say I’ve noticed much results during this last phase. I think I noticed quicker results when I was doing the workouts 3 times per week. However, to be honest in the last month I have had more than my average amount of treats. And you know what they say, abs are made in the kitchen. That’s totally true. Anyways, moving on and moving up. It’s time for Stage 4.

2 thoughts on “The New Rules Of Lifting For Women – Stage 3

  1. I am just starting phase 2 (for the second time) tonight. I just got back from a week of vacation so I felt like I should start phase two over again instead of just completing the last 3 workouts. For motivation I decided to google NROLFW results and I’m so happy I found your blog!! You are making great progress, especially looking at your first pic until now. Looking forward to seeing your phase 4 results! Keep up the awesome work! People are out here cheering you on 🙂

I love hearing from my readers! Please leave a reply

