Quick & Healthy Breakfast…That’s What I’m Talking About!

Today, I’m linking up with Lisa from The Skinny on Health again to bring you Fit Tip Tuesday.

Fit Tip Tuesday Button

I love oatmeal! I mean, what nutrition blogger doesn’t, have you been on Instagram?

instagram

The problem I find with oatmeal is that it takes too much time for a weekday breakfast. And I’m not about to start eating instant oatmeal because those processed grains leave me starving about 10 minutes after I finish breakfast. I have tried overnight oatmeal recipes and they’re okay but really not the same thing as cooked oatmeal. My newest obsession is baked oatmeal! It gives oatmeal a completely different texture and is oh so yummy. And more importantly, I can whip up a large batch of baked oatmeal on Sunday and portion it into breakfasts for the week. That way, when Monday morning rolls around, I pop my baked oatmeal portion into the microwave for 1 minute and have a healthy and quick breakfast. Great idea right? You’re welcome!

your welcome

 For the whole month of March, I am posting Nutrition Tips of the Day on my Facebook, Instagram & Twitter. Last week I posted this tip about oatmeal.

oatmeal

A reader commented on the post stating that she steeps water with tea and then makes her oatmeal with that water to give it more flavour. Her favourite was chai. Why had I never thought of that?!!? And then I thought, even better, I have some Tazo chai tea concentrate in my fridge that I need to use up, so I could make “chai latte oatmeal”. And then, because I just couldn’t stop there, I decided to add in apples and cranberries to make an epic oatmeal. I call it Baked Steel Cut Apple Cranberry Chai Oatmeal. I know it’s a mouthful, literally and figuratively…but so worth it!

chai oatmeal

Recipe:

Makes 4 servings

Ingredients:

  • ¾ cup Steel Cut Oatmeal
  • ½  Cup Tazo Chai Concentrate
  • 1 ½ Cup Skim Milk
  • ¼ Cup Dried Cranberries
  • 1 Apple, cored and chopped
  • 1 ½ tsp cinnamon
  • 1 Egg
  • 1 tsp Baking Powder
  • 2 tsp vanilla

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees
  2. In a large bowl mix together oatmeal, cinnamon, baking powder, apple & cranberry. Mix well.
  3. In a separate bowl beat together skim milk, chai concentrate, egg & vanilla.
  4. Mix wet ingredients into dry ingredients
  5. Spray square baking pan (8×8 or 9×9) with cooking spray and add mixture
  6. Bake at 350 for 45 minutes

1 Serving contains 185 calories, 8g protein & 4 g fibre 

Optional Crumb Topping: If you like a bit of a crunchy crumb topping to your baked oatmeal you can add this topping (above nutritional information does not include crumb topping). In a small bowl mix together 1 Tbsp brown sugar, 2 Tbsp Graham Crumbs & 1 tsp cinnamon. Cut in 1 Tbsp butter/margarine until you have a crumb consistency. Remove oatmeal after 30 minutes of baking, top with crumb mixture and then bake for remaining 15 minutes.

Hope you enjoy the recipe! Also, if you follow me on Instagram you know that today I am starting a Squat Challenge with Hilary from The Healthy Collective. It’s a 30 day challenge that will have you going up to 250 squats in a day! (you can break them up throughout the day). The challenge starts today with 50 squats! So come on, lets tone up those bikini bums for summer!

squat

Do you like baked oatmeal? Are you reading to join a 30 day squat challenge?

6 thoughts on “Quick & Healthy Breakfast…That’s What I’m Talking About!

  1. I am going to try this baked oatmeal recipe it sounds amazing! I’m just wondering how much steeped chai tea I would need to use as a substitute for the concentrate?
    Can’t wait to see if my kids like it!

    • I would substitute the milk & chai concentrate in the recipe for 2 cups steeped tea. You could either steep into milk or water – based on your preference. I like milk because it adds some extra protein and calcium to my oatmeal.

  2. I have been on an oatmeal kick lately. If i need the extra protien I add in an egg halfway through microwaving it. BTW do you know what is funny I tried to do 200 squats the other day and made it through 50… Maybe I should be doing this 30 day squat challenge!

I love hearing from my readers! Please leave a reply

