Meatless Wonders

How was your St. Patrick’s Day? Did you get crazy? Are you wishing everything at your work would stop being so loud?

hungover

I didn’t go out last night. Lately, my allergies have been kicking my butt! It feels like the worst cold that no medicine, sleep or time will make better. So I just didn’t feel like going out because I knew I would probably be miserable. Instead I worked on a blog posts for you!

This last week a reader asked me if I could post some more meatless meals. I was super happy to oblige because lately I have been eating more and more meatless meals. When Tom is working I find I have very little desire to cook for myself. In the past, I used to rely on cereal as my supper. However, it’s not exactly the healthiest choice for supper.

cereal

So instead of living off of cereal, I have learned to make meatless meals instead. Although they will sometimes take the same amount of time or more than a meat containing meal, it just seems easier!

As I mentioned in my post all about legumes, I am a new-found lover of all types of beans! Pretty well the first ever meatless recipe I made came from a pamphlet I got at a health show from Pulse Canada. I used to make it all the time but since I have been trying out so many other recipes now, I completely forgot about it. On Sunday night I made it for Tom and I. Even he said he missed this recipe, it’s so delicious!

Pulse & Barley Salad

pulse & barley salad

Makes 4 servings

Ingredients:

  • 1 Tbsp Olive Oil
  • 1/2 Onion, Chopped
  • 1 Garlic Clove Minced
  • 3/4 Cup Pearl Barley
  • 4 Cups Vegetable Broth
  • 1/2 Medium Zucchini, Chopped
  • 1 Bell Pepper, Chopped
  • 2 Cups Spinach
  • 1 Cup Cherry Tomatoes
  • 1/2 Cup Cooked/Canned Chickpeas
  • 1/2 Cup Cooked/Canned Lentils
  • 1 Tbsp Dill
  • 1/4 Cup Feta Cheese, Crumbled

Directions:

  1. Over medium heat, saute onion and garlic in olive oil in a large frying pan. Add barley and cook for 2 minutes.
  2. Add vegetable broth. Allow broth to boil then reduce heat and simmer 30-40 minutes, until barley is tender.
  3. Add in vegetables, lentils, chickpeas and dill. Cook about 5 minutes.
  4. Serve with crumbled feta on top

1 Serving provides 300 calories, 13 g protein, 5 g fat & 12 g fibre

The pulse salad is great both hot or cold. It can make an excellent dish to take to a potluck. I make my chickpeas/lentils in large batches and then freeze them. When I unthawed them, I had too much so I kept the leftovers in the fridge and then yesterday, I made another meatless meal.

Sweet Potato Lentil Quinoa Cakes

sweet potato

Makes 5 Patties

Ingredients:

  • 1 Sweet Potato
  • 1/4 Cup Quinoa (approximately 1/2 Cup Cooked Quinoa)
  • 1/2 Cup Cooked/Canned Lentils
  • 1 Garlic Clove, Minced
  • 1/2 tsp chili powder
  • 1/2 tsp onion powder
  • Pepper to taste
  • 1/2 Tbsp Olive Oil

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees.
  2. Wash sweet potato. Pierce sweet potato and bake on baking sheet for 45 minutes
  3. While sweet potato is baking prepare lentils and quinoa according to package.
  4. Remove sweet potato from oven and allow to slightly cool. Cut sweet potato in half and scoop fillings into bowl. Mash with potato masher.
  5. Add lentils, quinoa and seasonings and mix well.
  6. Spray baking sheet with cooking spray or line with parchment paper.
  7. Form patty shaped sweet potato mix in hands and add to baking sheet. Using silicone brush, lightly brush top of patties with olive oil.
  8. Bake in 375 degree oven for 15 minutes, flip and then bake for another 15 minutes.
  9. Broil for 2-3 minutes until patties become crispy.

1 Patty contains 80 calories, 2 g fat, 3 g protein & 3 g fibre

Hope you enjoy some of these meatless meals! Just remember, beans/lentils are great but if you aren’t used to eating them, you may experience some side effects…

fart

Do you find it hard to cook for yourself when you’re alone? What’s your favourite meatless meal?

<a href=”http://www.bloglovin.com/blog/11732929/?claim=35rknwyrnkq”>Follow my blog with Bloglovin</a>

I love hearing from my readers! Please leave a reply

