Makeup Monday – Spring Has Sprung Makeup

How was your weekend? Mine was wonderful. The weather here finally turned a corner and we reached 12 degrees Celsius!! It’s amazing how much weather can affect your mood. Being that it was so nice this weekend I really wanted to get out and see people and stop being such a hermit like I have been lately!

jennifer lawrence

Friday night I went out with friends for a couple of drinks. Saturday was a pretty lazy day for me. I was feeling just drained of energy. Maybe the drinks Friday night had something to do with that, but I can’t be sure. 😉 In the afternoon I went to a friend’s to do her hair and makeup for a boudoir shoot. It turned out amazing, I can’t wait to share some pictures but for now, it’s a secret so I can’t. Then we had a backyard fire at a friend’s house. Nothing makes you feel like summer is on the way like sitting around a campfire! Sunday I met a friend at the farmers market where I grabbed my typical Farmers Market items – beets, carrots & cashew butter. I also found a new spice to try out, it’s a greek seasoning that’s no salt. I was pretty pumped, I love Cavenders greek seasoning but it’s chalked full of salt, so I hope this will make a nice alternative. Then I spent the rest of my Sunday afternoon doing typical Sunday prep. I roasted my beets, made homemade granola, cut up fruit & vegetables, etc.

Since the weather was so nice I wanted to create a makeup look that matched the spring time feeling. One of my most recent MAC eyeshadows is Stars n’ Rockets. It’s such a gorgeous iridescent purple shade that to me just screams spring!

Vibrant Grape (Left) Stars N Rockets (Right)

Vibrant Grape (Left) Stars N Rockets (Right)

So I decided to create a look using that as my basis. And here’s how it turned out:

Spring Makeup

 

Spring makeup, purple, mac cosmetics

I feel the pictures don’t do justice to how beautiful of colour that Stars N Rocket Shadow is. To create a similar springtime look, here’s my tutorial:

 Tutorial:

  1. Prime lid with eyeshadow primer. This step is optional but will make your eyeshadow last longer. I used Urban Decay Primer Potion.
  2. Using a peachy-coral shade on a fluffy brush, shade your entire crease using windshield wiper motions and blend upwards towards the brow bone. I used MAC Samoa silk, which is now discontinued 😦
  3. Using a shader brush (I used MAC 239) tap MAC Stars n’ rockets all over the entire lid. You could substitute this for a light purple shade but trust me, if you like purple this is a shade you want to invest in.
  4. Using a darker purple shade (I used MAC Vibrant Grape) on a fluffy brush, shade the outer corner of the eye and slightly into the crease. You want to keep the purple shade below that peachy shade that you previously applied
  5. Using a smaller fluffy brush, take a grey eyeshadow (I used MAC print) and shade the outer V of your eye, blend well.
  6. Using a pencil brush, blend Stars n Rockets all along your lower lash line. Then smudge print on the outer lower lash line.
  7. Add eyeliner and mascara. I used Stila’s Stay All Day Waterproof Liquid Eyeliner and Revlon Voluminous Mascara.
  8. Sweep a pink blush on the apples of your cheeks and up towards your temples. I used NARS Deep Throat (yes, that is actually what they named the blush…)
  9. Apply a pink lipstick to finish the look. I used MAC Please Me and topped with Sephora’s Glossy Gloss in Think Pink

I think this could easily become one of my go to looks for this spring/summer. Even Tom noticed and commented on my eyeshadow!

Hope you have a wonderful Monday.

What did you do this weekend? Do you have a favourite purple eyeshadow?

13 thoughts on “Makeup Monday – Spring Has Sprung Makeup

  1. my wknd was fab — lots of hanging out in the city with friends/the boy, running, and saw a great Broadway show. love these purple eyeshadows! i’m a big fan of Urban Decay’s Last Call and Grifter.

  2. Pingback: Makeup Monday – Recent Makeup Purchases | Pretty Little Grub

I love hearing from my readers! Please leave a reply

