Makeup Monday – Recent Makeup Purchases

Good morning all. Hope you had a fabulous weekend! I had a pretty chill weekend which I mostly spent binge watching episodes of Suits on Netflix. I am so totally addicted to this show now. I just couldn’t stop hitting the next button!

suits

It was really nice because after taking a quick look at my calendar I’m pretty much booked every weekend from now until September, so I won’t get a chance to do that again for a while.

time

The one thing I did get up to this weekend was running my first ever 10km race! Of course I have ran 10km before but I’ve never raced that distance but I’ll recap that tomorrow.

Lately, I have been doing a bit of makeup shopping, are you surprised? So I figured I’d share some of my most recent purchases with you.

joey

I made a trip to MAC yesterday because I’ve been thinking about finding a new foundation. Recently I have been using MAC Full Coverage Foundation and while I love the foundation, I want something that has SPF in it for my upcoming Europe trip. I was planning on buying the Stuido Fix Fluid Foundation because I’ve used it before in the past and liked it but the girl at MAC talked me into trying the Pro Longwear Foundation. I love pretty much every Pro Longwear item I’ve ever tried from MAC so I’m excited to give this one a try. I also picked up a new bottle of the Pro Longwear Concealer. I love this stuff for under eyes and as a eyeshadow primer. I figured if I took this to Europe then I won’t have to bring an eyeshadow primer. One less thing to pack!

P1040743

 

And while I was at MAC picking up these essentials, I happened to decide that I “needed” 2 new lipsticks. I have been hearing great things about Coral Bliss as a great go-to coral shade for spring. And I have wanted to purchase Creme Cup for a long time as it’s one of MAC’s cult-classic lipsticks that I don’t yet own.

 

MAC Lipsticks Coral Bliss & Creme Cup

Coral Bliss (left) Creme Cup (right)

Creme Cup (top) Coral Bliss (Bottom)

Creme Cup (top) Coral Bliss (Bottom)

 

Last week I also happened to do some makeup shopping, but I had to, because it was the Sephora 15% off sale and I had a gift certificate. Or at least, that’s what I’m telling myself! So here’s what I picked up from the sale:

The Too Faced Chocolate Bar Palette:

too faced palette

I heard about this palette by the You Tube Guru Tiffany D. She has raved about this palette. And although I know I really don’t need more eyeshadows I decided to cave on this one. And let me tell you, I am so glad that I did!

First of all, the packaging on this palette is adorable. Secondly, the eyeshadows smell like chocolate. No joke. Everytime I open it, I want chocolate, which may not be a good thing for me. But most importantly the eyeshadows are incredible. They are super pigmented, blend easily and stay all day. The palette is such a great collection of neutrals with some pops of colours which makes it incredibly versatile. I am actually considering bringing this as my only palette to Europe, over my MAC shadows… that’s how much I love it!

My only negative thing I can say about this palette is I hate that the names of the palette are only on the plastic insert. I want to throw away that insert because it’s a bit annoying but I like being able to see the names of the shadows. I just wished they had put the names on the palette itself. But truly a minor complaint.

I also picked up a new blush from NARS. I got the colour Deep Throat. Which you can see on me in my spring makeup tutorial. It’s a really pretty rose pink with a golden shimmer, not a chunky glitter. I think this blush is really much more flattering and wearable than NARS iconic shade, Orgasm.

P1040739

And lastly, I picked up a new lipstick from Urban Decay. I got Turn On. It’s such a great pink. It’s vibrant without being hot pink. And this stuff lasts all day long!

UD

 

Then as if that weren’t all enough the other night I was watching another You Tube Guru, Jaclyn Hill. Lately she has been raving about the Makeup Geek products. I was watching one of her her tutorials and before I knew it I was on the Makeup Geek website ordering some new products. This is why I try to limit my watching of you tube makeup videos, it’s seriously bad for my bank account!

makeup geek

I got the Makeup Geek pigment in Afterglow (top two pictures). And I got 3 eyeshadows. In the bottom right picture from left to right (mango tango, beaches & cream, peach smoothie). I know they don’t seem like super exciting eyeshadow colours but they are great blending colours which you need in order to get that airbrushed look.

This is not my first time buying Makeup Geek products, I already have a number of the eyeshadows and a couple of brushes. The eyeshadows are wondeful. There is a huge selction of colours that is growing all the time. The eyeshadows are super pigmented and long lasting. And most incredible of all, the price! Each eyeshadow is only $6. There is also listings on the website as to which colours are great dupes for MAC products. So if you want to get the MAC look without the price…makeup geek is definitely the way to go. I would however caution against the Makeup Geek brushes. I bought a number of them because the price was so great. However, the quality of the brushes just isn’t there.

Have you bought any exciting new makeup products? What did you do this weekend?

12 thoughts on “Makeup Monday – Recent Makeup Purchases

  1. LOOOOVE make up shopping!
    I used my 15% for hair products, but now that I know you like Deep Throat better than Orgasm, I’m going to need to check it out.
    And now that’s the weirdest sentence I’ve ever typed 🙂

  2. Hi! Love your blog! Question, are you going to be doing a swatch sample from the Too Faced Chocolate Bar palette? Also, I’ve nominated you for the Liebster Awards! Check out my post for today for more info on it! xo Lola

  3. omg I have just way too many eyeshadows lol but this one does intrigue me! I also love that coral lipstick…though lipstick is another thing I have too much of that and I use them probably like once amonth lol I probably shouldn’t buy anymore!

  4. Pingback: Too Faced Chocolate Bar Palette Swatches and Tutorial | Pretty Little Grub

  5. Pingback: Beauty Fails | Pretty Little Grub

I love hearing from my readers! Please leave a reply

