Individual Greek Yogurt Cheesecake

My all-time favourite dessert is cheesecake. I actually feel very fortunate that Canada doesn’t have any Cheesecake Factory’s because I’m not sure how well my self-control would hold out.

cheesecake gif

The other day I was really craving some cheesecake but I wanted to try to make a healthier version. I happened across a recipe from the Oikos Greek Yogurt website and found the solution. A greek yogurt cheesecake! And better yet it was individual serving size.

I decided to change up the recipe from the website a bit. To me a proper graham cracker crust makes a cheesecake so I wasn’t willing to compromise on that and I wanted to add peanut butter because….well that’s self-explanatory, peanut butter makes everything better!

peanut butter dog

So here’s what I came up with:

cheesecake

Chocolate Peanut Butter Greek Yogurt Cheesecake

Makes 4 individual servings

Ingredients:

Graham Cracker Crust:

  • 1 1/4 Cup Graham Cracker Crumbs
  • 1/4 Cup Margarine

Filling:

  • 2 Cups Plain Greek Yogurt
  • 1/4 Cup Cocoa Powder
  • 3 Tbsp Peanut Butter
  • 1 Tbsp Brown Sugar
  • 1 tsp Vanilla

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350
  2. Melt margarine in microwave
  3. Mix melted margarine into graham crackers
  4. Evenly distribute graham crumb mixture into 4 individual oven-safe ramekins. Pack graham crumb mixture with hands along bottom and sides of ramekins to form crust
  5. Place ramekins on cookie sheet and bake for 8-10 minutes. (Alternatively if you want a no bake option, place ramekins in refrigerator until crust sets, crust will be less crispy but equally delicious)
  6. In a bowl mix together filling ingredients
  7. Add filling to graham cracker crust. Top with Reese’s Peanut Butter chips (optional) and serve

I love the way these turned out. They are a perfect treat that’s not too sweet but perfectly satisfied my cheesecake craving.

cheesecake meme

 

What’s your favourite dessert? Do you ever make healthier desserts?

 

The Hump Day Blog Hop
7 thoughts on “Individual Greek Yogurt Cheesecake

  1. yum this looks delish! love the last pic. my favourite dessert is banana + chocolate (cocoa or syrup) in a blender, shove it in the freezer and a few hours later = ice cream! kind of. lol. yum!

I love hearing from my readers! Please leave a reply

