New Rules of Lifting for Women – Stage 4

I’m baaaccckkk! I still feel sick today but I think I’m on the mend. That means it’s time for another recap of my latest stage of the New Rules of Lifting for Women. If you have no idea what I’m talking about or missed my previous recaps check them out here:

Overview of the Program

Stage One Recap

Stage Two Recap

Stage Three Recap

Stage 4 took me FOREVER but it’s done! I started this stage at the end of February but at the beginning of March I went on vacation. Then when I got back I was focusing hard on the last of my half marathon training so I took about 2 weeks off the program. Since I took such a long hiatus I decided to start the stage all over again.

As I started reading about what exercises I had to do for stage 4, I was like I’ve done that exercise before, I’ve done that exercise before. And then it dawned on me, I’ve done all of these before because Stage 4 is a exact repeat of stage 2. This did not make me happy because if you remember, I was not a fan of Stage 2. Too many lunges!

cat

The only change between Stage 2 and Stage 4 was the number of reps and sets. In Stage 2, I did 2 sets of 10 reps each. In stage 4 it calls for 2-3 sets of 8 reps. The 2-3 sets really confused me. I mean should I be doing 2 or 3? I felt like if I only did 2, I was being lazy but then again, maybe if I only did 2 I would be less fatigued and would be able to lift heavier. I wasn’t really sure and the book gave no explanation as to why they say 2-3, so I just did 3.

The Workouts:

Workout A:

Exercise Sets Reps Rest (seconds)
Front squat/push press 2-3 8 90
Step-Up 2-3 8 90
Dumbell one-point row 2-3 8 90
Static lunge, rear foot elevated 2-3 8 90
Push-up 2-3 8 90
Plank 2-3 120 seconds 90
Cable Horizontal wood chop 2-3 8 90

Workout B: 

Exercise Sets Reps Rest (seconds)
Wide-grip deadlift from box 2-3 8 90
Bulgarian split squat 2-3 8 90
Underhand-grip lat pulldown 2-3 8 90
Reverselunge from box with forward reach 2-3 8 90
Dumbell prone Cuban snatch 2-3 8 90
Swiss Ball Crunch 2-3 8 90
Reverse Crunch 2-3 8 90
Lateral Flexion 2-3 8 90
Prone Cobra 2-3 120 sec 90
Interval Training: 15 minutes – 1 minute hard/2 minute recovery

What I did differently:

  • I did 15 minute intervals for both workout A & B
  • I did sets of 10 for all pushup and ab exercises
  • I didn’t do deadlifts from a box, I just did regular deadlifts same as I did in stage 2
  • I didn’t hold the plank or prone cobra for 120 seconds, I only made it to 90

What I liked about this stage:

  • I like the squat push press and pushups

What I disliked about this stage:

  • I didn’t like that it was a repeat of stage 2, I would have liked some new moves
  • I said it before and I’ll say it again, too many lunges!

Results:

*Did not include body weight exercises

Workout A:

Exercise Starting Weight Ending Weight
Front Squat Push Press 55 66
Step-Up 30 40
Dumbell One Point Row 25 25
Static lunge, rear foot elevated 25 35
Cable Horizontal Wood Chop 55 55

Workout B:

Exercise Starting Weight Ending Weight
Deadlifts 85 100
Bulgarian Split Squat 25 35
Underhand-grip lat pulldown 85 85
Reverse lunge form box with forward reach 30 35
Swiss Ball Crunch 25 35

NROL5

NROL6

 

I’m happy with the results that I’m getting. The results in my body aren’t drastic but I’m seeing overall strength gains. I think if I had kept up with the program more consistently and did it 3 times a week, I would likely see better results.

I was hoping to be able to finish Stage 5 before I left for Europe but unfortunately with me begin lazy last week for a few days and sick this week I won’t be able to get the workouts done unless I would do 5 a week which is not recommended by the book. Therefore, I’m going to leave the next stage until I return from vacation.

In the meantime, I’m kind of looking forward to the next week and a half of workouts. I won’t be focusing on any specific training so I can just do whatever workout that I want for the fun of it! While I love having goals to keep me on track for working out, it does often mean that I am more scheduled and regimented with my workouts. So I’m looking forward to this.

Do you have a suggestion of a new exercise I should try? Are lunges the bane of your existence?

3 thoughts on “New Rules of Lifting for Women – Stage 4

    • Thank you. I like seeing my strength gains. It’s a huge boost of confidence in the gym when you can lift heavier weights than a guy beside you!
      You could definitely do it too. I will check out your workouts. Thanks!

  1. I just read your blog from December on new rules for lifting women and I love it. I also love the program your doing. Keep it up, I am currently working on a post similar to this for next week – would love your input so stop by please. XO

I love hearing from my readers! Please leave a reply

