Beauty Fails

Sometimes beauty isn’t pretty. Sometimes it’s just a big ol’ fail…

fall

How many times did you watch that gif? I watched that loop 10 times in a row and it’s funny every single time. I just love that the male model behind her doesn’t even flinch! I’m not sure if he’s a total a-hole for not helping her or a total pro that he could keep going without busting out laughing.

But what I really mean by beauty fails is when you spend money on a beauty product and it turns out to be terrible. It sucks but it’s bound to happen.

My Beauty Fails:

1. Loreal Voluminous Mascara – Waterproof

waterproof

I was SOOO disappointed by this one. I LOVE the Loreal Voluminous mascara. I have used it for years and think it’s the best drugstore mascara on the market. However, I often like to use waterproof mascara because it holds curl better in my stick straight lashes. Of course, I turned to the waterproof version of my favourite mascara. But it’s just bad, bad, bad. Not only does it not help with holding a curl at all, I would barely call it waterproof. If I’ve been at the gym with this stuff on my whole lid is covered in mascara that’s transferred and that’s even without being crazy sweaty. I also find it smudges during the day all underneath my eyes. No one wants to look like a racoon!

racoon

2. MAC Coral Bliss Lipstick

mac coral bliss

I just bought this lipstick in my most recent beauty haul. Now when I call this one a fail, I’ll say it’s a fail for ME. I bought this off the recommendation of a lot of beauty bloggers who love it. And I think a lot of people would love this lipstick. It’s a really pretty sheer coral colour. The reason it’s a fail for me is I didn’t get a good enough colour pay off. When I wear lipstick, I want to be able to see it. So I returned this lipstick for a much more vibrant coral shade, Vegas Volt.

3. Not Your Mother’s Kinky Moves Curl Defining Cream

curl cream

This cream is like a half-fail for me. I like the way the curl cream works. I have naturally wavy hair and this cream works well to give me some good definition without being frizzy. However, it’s awful after you shower. When I showered and then blow-dried my hair, my hair felt nasty like I forgot to rinse out my conditioner.

4. Bobbi Brown Brightening Lip Gloss

bobbi brown lip gloss

This lip gloss is horrible. It is seriously the stickiest lip gloss ever. If a drugstore lipgloss that cost me $5 is sticky, I’m okay with that. But this lip gloss is $29 so stickiness is not okay! And there is nothing special about this lip gloss otherwise that would make it worth the stickiness. An utter fail by a company that usually has such great products.

5. Joico Sulfate Free Shampoo

joico

A little while ago I needed new shampoo. I decided to venture out and try this new sulfate free shampoo from Joico. I have no idea what sulfate does to your hair but I figured sulfate-free sounded like a good idea. It was not. After using this shampoo I dried my hair and it felt disgusting and it looked greasy. So greasy that I would have to put dry shampoo in and put it in a ponytail. Right after showering! Of course, I tried it a couple times to see if maybe it was something else but the same thing every single time. And when I went to my hairdresser, he found a bunch of build up on my hair. Of course I bought the huge mega size bottle when I got this shampoo, because it’s cheaper in bulk! Huge waste.

So there ya have it a few of my most recent beauty fails. The funny thing about beauty though is that it’s in the eye of the beholder. So while one product might be a total fail for me, it might be a holy grail product for you. We’re all different and have different needs so if I post something that you love, don’t worry, it just didn’t work out for me.

What are some beauty fails you have had recently? How many times did you watch that gif?

6 thoughts on “Beauty Fails

  1. I wish I was able to wear the mega-volume mascaras… All of them react poorly with my eyes.. I get all watery and gross… It has to be whatever agent they use to give your eyelashes that OOMPH.

    **SIGHS**

    The only mascara I can wear is ULTA store brand… And that has to be sparingly.
    I love the make up but it doesn’t love me! LOL

  2. Hehe, poor girl. I’m sure it hurt her ego and bottom. Ouchy!! 🙂
    Wow, I’ve experienced some of these some exactly products you listed and feel the same way.
    I’ve tried lots of curl creams and dislike when my hair feeling overly weighed down.

I love hearing from my readers! Please leave a reply

