Spring Revival

Hello ya’ll! I’m Shaye and I like to live a life of passion.  My family is my main source of joy but I like to consider myself a renaissance woman as well.  Diving into any and all things that bring me joy head first!  I hail from the great state of Wisconsin and couldn’t imagine a more beautiful place.  If you enjoy what I have done for Pretty Little Grub you can follow me as well at www.simplyshaye.wordpress.com.  Thanks!

The time of year has come for me to pack away my alarm clock because the sound of birds singing is more than a welcome sound to awake to each morning.  Spring has sprung and it’s time to shake off those winter blues and get ready to enjoy the warm months ahead.  It can be a slow process for some but I have a few tricks that I use that seem to make the transition much easier.

Clear Mind, Healthy Mind

Above all else I like to get my mind in the right state.  In order to do that I need to declutter my thoughts.  On a warm day I like to try and meditate.  I remove myself from distraction and head outdoors.  Find a comfortable place to sit and breathe deep.  Let the fresh breeze come over you while you relax.  Focus on all the things that make you happy.  Separate all of your work anxiety from your social life.  A clear division between them will allow you to be more peace and enjoy those events out of work.

Remove Mental Pollution

To help keep my mind at ease as well I try to limit my media intake.  I’ll still keep up on the news but when it comes to evening programming I try to cut it down to a minimum.  Instead I look to a good book.  Sitting on the back porch in the evening reading a great book is an amazing way to escape.  Getting lost in a narrative with the beautiful weather around you is an amazing way to melt away the stresses of a day.  Breathe deep, dive into the narrative and let the words on the page take you over.

Bust a Move

It’s common to see more and more people begin to exercise once the weather improves and I am one of them.  When it’s cold outside I tend to lose motivation but as the weather warms up so does our disposition on exercise.  I find that the best times to try and sneak in some exercise is either at sunrise or dusk.

I personally wake up and hour earlier than normal and take off on a morning jog.  The sun is up earlier which makes it so much easier for me to get out of bed.  The morning air seems to help me clear my mind and prepare for the day.  If you’d rather wait until dusk that is fine too.  A brisk walk is the perfect go to as the day comes to an end.  It gets your heart rate up, isn’t too strenuous and allows you to enjoy the nature around you.  These are just a few easy ideas to get you up and moving.

Kick the Caffeine

Over the winter my dependance on coffee skyrockets.  I try to move away from coffee all together come springtime.  If I need a jolt of caffeine I turn to tea or if I’m desperate a large iced coffee is my savior.  I seek out alternative sources to energize myself come the warmer months, such as a glass of water with a touch of lemon.  The lemon adds a large dose of electrolytes to the water giving you a natural energy boost.  It also helps to keep you hydrated which is just a great general health tip on its own.  

Eat Seasonally

My diet also changes this time of year.  Fruits, greens and other vegetables make up the majority of my meals around this time of year.  Mostly fresh crisp salads.  A bed of greens full of produce topped with grilled steak or chicken is my favorite go to.  From time to time though you have to allow yourself to indulge.  

My favorite way to soak up all spring has to offer is with a picnic.  Peace and tranquility along with enjoying the outdoors and some great food as well.  I don’t always bring healthy foods along, I mean after all this is my reward.  Sweets, and I’m sure I’m not alone in this, are my downfall.  That is why I always bring some sort of goodie with me on my picnics.  Anything from dark chocolate bars, to cake pops, to oatmeal raisin cookies usually accompany me.  I can’t deprive myself completely!

Spring is here! It’s time to get out of the house and enjoy all the glory that comes with the changing of the seasons.  What ways do you like to kick start your spring season?

2 thoughts on “Spring Revival

  1. Very nice tips!! I love them all!! I absolutely LOVE picnics!! They’re THE BEST!! Nothin’ better than a summer picnic with some yummy summer foods!! Have a great week!

I love hearing from my readers! Please leave a reply

