There’s No Place Like Home

Hello everyone! I am officially home from Europe. I had an absolutely amazing vacation. I have so much I want to tell you and share with you. But first I have about 600 pictures to sort through and I have to get my head around how to recap everything. On top of that, I have to catch up on my sleep.
tired

We landed Wednesday night at 8:00 p.m. By time we got to bed it was 9:30, which in “our” time was 6:30 a.m. Tom and I did the best we could to stay awake on the plane so that we would be able to sleep last night. However, I am still very exhausted. While heading straight back to work saved some vacation time, it definitely meant I was a zombie at work.

work

I still have a busy weekend ahead of me. Today after work I’m driving up to Edmonton because on Saturday is my nephew’s graduation party. That’s right, my nephew graduated from high school. Boy do I ever feel old saying that! After the party I have to drive right back to Calgary because on Sunday I am signed up for a 10km race. Apparently, I was very ambitious before I left on vacation.

My intention in signing up for the 10km was to encourage myself to run during vacation. Additionally, this run is the Calgary Marathon. This year is the 50th anniversary and I know a lot of people running in different categories so I thought it would be fun to join.

calgary marathon

So did I run during vacation? Well….once. I will write a post on how I kept active during vacation. I definitely wasn’t just lying down on a beach everyday but running didn’t make the itinerary either. Why? A couple of reasons:

First and foremost my foot. About a week before we left for vacation something happened to my foot. I’m not even sure what because I never got a chance to get it checked out. Right at the base of my big toe hurt really badly as I walked and it hurt considerably worse if I ran. Therefore, since I knew I was going to be doing a lot of walking in Europe I decided it wasn’t worth pushing myself and risk injuring myself further.

Second reason for not running was we walked ALOT. Tom and I walked for usually a minimum of 5 hours a day and some days up to 9-10 hours. So not only did I lack the energy for running, I felt pretty justified that I had got in a sufficient amount of exercise.

Lastly, I was on vacation. While keeping active is very important to me I also like to balance my lifestyle. Taking a rest from running for a couple of weeks wasn’t going to kill me. Now that I’m back it’s time for my official marathon training to start and I know I will be running ALOT in the upcoming months. So while I love to run, having this break both for my body and mind was really nice.

body break

 

I’m not planning on racing the 10km. My foot still isn’t 100% and I’m clearly not in my top shape. I just want to go out and have a good time and then cheer on other people who I know there. No pressure.

Hope you all have a fabulous weekend and I will be back next week with recaps of the race and of course lots to share about my European Adventure.

 

4 thoughts on “There’s No Place Like Home

  1. Welcome back!

    I can’t wait to read more about your trip!

    And I’m glad you are choosing not to run the 10k, if your foot isn’t up for it, it’s important to listen to your body!

  2. Can’t wait to hear all about your vacation. Walking that much does justify not running in my book, especially since you didn’t want to further injury yourself. Signing up for race before vacation is a great idea to keep active =) Glad to hear you had a good time!

I love hearing from my readers! Please leave a reply

