Calgary Marathon and 30 Days of Summer

Hello and Happy Monday! I promise my Europe recaps are coming, I have one all ready for tomorrow but first I figured I would recap my weekend and the 10km run I did yesterday.

Before that, I also wanted to tell you about a 30 day photo challenge I’m joining. For the 30 days of June, I will be posting pictures on Instagram showcasing my summer. The challenge is sponsored by Staples. I and many other bloggers will be playing along with this challenge and you can too. Just hashtag your pictures on social media with #30SummerDays

Each day there is something new for you to post:

#30SummerDays

1 – Rabbit, Rabbit! What brings you good luck?
2 – Monday, ugh! What’s keeping you going today?
3 – Who made you smile today?
4 – Look up. What do you see?
5 – #TBT (throw back Thursday) Share a photo from a past summer trip!
6 – National Doughnut Day! Snap a pic celebrating! Or, what did you have instead?!
7 – Saturday! What are you up to?

8 – Time to relax before the start of the week. What does relaxing look like to you?
9 – Manic Monday! What’s giving you a case of the Mondays?
10 – Is the sun out? Snap a pic! If not, what’s it like out there?
11 – Get over the hump of the week. How were you productive today?
12 – Treat yourself, it’s almost the weekend!
13 – Friday the 13th! Are you superstitious and ducking for cover, or out and about?
14 – Flag Day! Got one flying in the warm breeze?

15 – Happy Father’s Day! Snap a pic or share one of an awesome dad!
16 – Monday motivation. What motivates you?
17 – Got a pet? Share them with the world!
18 – Stretch those legs mid-week and go outside or for a walk. Snap and share!
19 – #OOTD, what are you wearing? Got your summer clothes on?!
20 – Happy Friday! You made it! Smile and say cheese!
21 – HAPPY SUMMER! Take a picture of what summer looks like to you to celebrate!

22 – Sunday Pancakes! Do you have a Sunday breakfast routine?
23 – Got those sandals out? What’s your favourite pair?
24 – What made you happy today?
25 – Are the flowers blooming? Take a picture of your favourite!
26 – Wehew, it’s hot out there. How are you cooling down?
27 – Last Friday of the month, what are you up to?
28 – Is today a beach day? Snap a pic and make everyone jealous!

29 – Go out for a picnic! Make sure to take a picture!
30 – Last day of June, how are you sending it off?

And if those don’t work, get creative! It’s your summer after all! Make sure you follow along with me and see how my June plays out.

Anyways, back to my weekend…

I had a very busy weekend! I headed to my sister’s in Edmonton right after work on Friday. I got there in just enough time to see my little nieces for a bit before their bedtime. Having them run up to me excited to see me just makes my heart melt every time! Then I got a chance to talk my sister’s ear off about my Europe trip. I felt like I was yammering on forever. But she said she likes to get to me first so that I’m not all talked out and just say it was “good”.

Saturday we headed to my other sister’s who was hosting my nephews grad party. And I totally was the worst blogger ever as I forgot to take even a single picture. But the weather was great and we had a great bbq. Then I headed back to Calgary, but not before taking the wrong turn leaving my sisters and getting stuck in road construction for half an hour before I could turn around.

road construction

 

Sunday I ran the Jugo Juice 10km which was part of the Calgary Marathon.

Last week I picked up my race packet at the expo. This year is pretty cool because it’s the 50th anniversary of the Calgary Marathon. They had some great retro outfits for display and a big tarp you could sign.

20140601-155512.jpg

calgary marathon

My signature:

20140601-155444.jpg

The best part of the expo was seeing John Stanton! I was still jet lagged and like a zombie walking through the expo. I didn’t think I could have any intelligent conversation with him so instead, I just snapped a creeper picture of him.

20140601-155349.jpg

Sunday morning I woke up for the race and sooo badly didn’t want to go. As I mentioned, I didn’t exactly run on vacation as planned. So I knew running a 10km was going to be a bit challenging. I even considered not going and just pretending I was sick. But eventually I dragged myself out the door and of course, I was happy that I did. As soon as I got down to the stampede grounds, the energy level got my spirits lifted and I was ready to race!

20140601-155543.jpg

I decided I wasn’t going to race this run considering I wasn’t properly trained. I planned to do my usual run/walk and just go at whatever pace felt comfortable. I mostly just wanted to go out and have a good time.

I have never been in a race this size so it was really cool to feed off the energy of people all around you. There was never a point where you were alone. It was definitely good practice for the New York Marathon which will be about 100 times more crowded.

20140601-155608.jpg

The crowd support on the race was pretty good. A lot of the neighbourhoods came out and had a lot of supporters with some great signs. Since I wasn’t racing I was just having a great time on the course, I was taking pictures, texting selfies of myself to Tom and high-fiving as many kids as I could

20140601-155658.jpg

 

 

20140601-155715.jpg

20140601-155638.jpg

My official time was 1:03:43. I was really happy with that considering I wasn’t racing. Overall, the organization of the Calgary Marathon is fantastic. It was such a great day and I’m sure I’ll be running again next year.

jugo juice 10km

The only downside to the race is that one of my biggest fears came true again. Another injury!

According to my Web MD diagnosis I have hip bursitis. So right now, though I was planning to be starting my marathon training I have to work a bit on resting this injury. Luckily I already have an appointment with my physio next week so he will help me through this.

Do you prefer big races with crowds or small races? Have you ever had hip bursitis – any tips?

4 thoughts on “Calgary Marathon and 30 Days of Summer

  1. 1 hour 3 minutes and change? AND NOT RACING? You ROCK!
    Glad you enjoyed yourself. That’s what it is ALL about! Right?

    And a instragram 30 days of June thing? Ooooh. That sounds fun!

  2. Congratulation! I was at the race yesterday too. What a GREAT day to run (a little warm, but better than being freezing!) I ran the NYC half in March and it was sooo cold! I think it took me 4 miles to feel my hands and feet! Hope you feel better soon!

I love hearing from my readers! Please leave a reply

